Stuffed Fish in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was absolutely the BEST!!! Outstanding is all I can say about this delightful, flakey, fantastic flavoured dish! Only thing I added was some fresh lemon juice and parmesan cheese. There was no sogginess whatsoever, the pastry was exceptional! and the fish(I used sole) was perfect!! My husband despises fish, so I took the broccoli, cheese and rice filling from another recipe off the sole recipe from this site and even he said after the first bite that it was good! Unfortunately, then he tasted the sole a few bites later and stopped eating!! Oh well...more leftovers for me!!! Thanks for a terrific post! Will defintely make again and even use the filling in a stuffed chicken breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this recipe with cobia instead of flounder, and added lemon juice and Old Bay seasoning to the stuffing and the fish. I also left out the bradcrumbs and used less hot sauce so it would stick together- I tasted the mix before adding the breadcrumbs and couldn't bring myself to put them in! I guess I changed a lot about it, but it was still fantastic, and I give (most of) the credit to L. Chambers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This dish was absolute excellence! Never have I been so impressed. The only thing I did different was, I seasoned the fish with Emeril's Fish Rub,and used haddock because my fish guy was out of flounder. I used canned crab meat, and made sure I chopped the onions, shrimp and celery very fine (more minced than chopped). I may cut back on the hot sauce next time, but that is a matter of taste. My 6 year old had so much fun using the spoon to make scales, and adding the decorative touches. This recipe deserves to be featured in the next All Recipes Cookbook!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Excellent dish. I didn't have crab for the stuffing so I used canned shrimp instead, added 2T of green onion, added 2T of butter and 1/4C. parmasean cheese to the stuffing. It was delicious and my husband and 3y/o ate every bite! I will make this again and again. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Excellent dish!!! My husband and I loved it!! We didn't have any celery so we left it out. My 8yr old loved it!!!!!! Delicous. Will definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Not only did this recipe taste wonderful, it made a great presentation. I made it early in the day, and just popped it in the oven at dinner time. It is definatly a "keeper"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNTHLANE1
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this for our traditional German Christmas Eve dinner. It was alot of fun, especially creating the "fish". It was very tasty. I converted the recipe to serve 10, but if I do it again, will stick with the smaller amounts. It made alot of stuffing! This may become a new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALZCAB
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Awesome!!!!!=) I didn't have puff pastry so I used Fillo sheets. It was for me and my husband so I didn't bother with the shaping of the dough. This was great paired with the Lemon Pepper Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALZCAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent dish. I've made in 4 or 5 times now and it's been a hit every time. I haven't altered a thing because it's so good just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a keeper. I didn't have the vermouth so I used white cooking wine instead. And I used Basa filets because that was the only white fish I could find that wasn't super expensive. I really liked everything about the dish and will be making it for my entire family (Grandma, Uncles, Cousins) very soon! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States