Stuffed Fish in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I loved the idea of this recipe however stuffed it with a crab cakes recipe and surrounded it with crab cakes. Stunning and delicious when you want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a keeper. I didn't have the vermouth so I used white cooking wine instead. And I used Basa filets because that was the only white fish I could find that wasn't super expensive. I really liked everything about the dish and will be making it for my entire family (Grandma, Uncles, Cousins) very soon! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was so much fun to make! I wish I could send all the photos we took... my husband made the pastry into a fish... beautiful. The flavor was very mild. It just needed lemon pepper, lemon juice, lemon zest and Parmesan cheese added to the stuffing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent dish. I've made in 4 or 5 times now and it's been a hit every time. I haven't altered a thing because it's so good just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Loved it.. we all did.. will make this quite often.. also used leftover stuffing in an egg omlet the folling morning.. yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atherton, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this recipe with cobia instead of flounder, and added lemon juice and Old Bay seasoning to the stuffing and the fish. I also left out the bradcrumbs and used less hot sauce so it would stick together- I tasted the mix before adding the breadcrumbs and couldn't bring myself to put them in! I guess I changed a lot about it, but it was still fantastic, and I give (most of) the credit to L. Chambers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was absolutely the BEST!!! Outstanding is all I can say about this delightful, flakey, fantastic flavoured dish! Only thing I added was some fresh lemon juice and parmesan cheese. There was no sogginess whatsoever, the pastry was exceptional! and the fish(I used sole) was perfect!! My husband despises fish, so I took the broccoli, cheese and rice filling from another recipe off the sole recipe from this site and even he said after the first bite that it was good! Unfortunately, then he tasted the sole a few bites later and stopped eating!! Oh well...more leftovers for me!!! Thanks for a terrific post! Will defintely make again and even use the filling in a stuffed chicken breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was a good recipe. But I too found the stuffing a bit bland. I added 1/2 tsp dill, 1/4c parm cheese to the mix. I also both peppered and salted the fish. I didn't have flounder so I used small rainbow trouts that were boned. I filled the fish with the stuffing and then put garlic and herb philly on the top of the fish before the pastry. It tasted and looked lovely. I am not too big of a fan of vermouth and maybe next time would use a bit less. And I didn't use any hot sauce, I am not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This one was soooo hard to rate. I'm giving if a five for creativity, but everything else only gets a three from me. The stuffing was bland until I doctored it up and the fish really needed some personality. I dredged them in a combo of parm cheese and seasonings before laying them on the puff pastry. To the stuffing, I added dijon mustard, worst. sauce, a bit of mayo, lots of seasonings and just a small handful of fresh breadcrumbs. When I say creativity, this is it. If you want to impress someone, go for it because you certainly will. Don't be intimidated by making your pastry into a fish. It was so much fun and it looked absolutely ADORABLE! My family cracked up when I brought it to the table. End result was so darn delicious and I do thank you L. Chambers for your submission. Without it, we wouldn't have had so much fun cutting up a fishy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This dish was absolute excellence! Never have I been so impressed. The only thing I did different was, I seasoned the fish with Emeril's Fish Rub,and used haddock because my fish guy was out of flounder. I used canned crab meat, and made sure I chopped the onions, shrimp and celery very fine (more minced than chopped). I may cut back on the hot sauce next time, but that is a matter of taste. My 6 year old had so much fun using the spoon to make scales, and adding the decorative touches. This recipe deserves to be featured in the next All Recipes Cookbook!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States