Stuffed Filet Mignon Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, this is definately one of the best steak dishes I have ever had and was an absolute HIT at my football party last weekend. I was a little suspicious of using filet mignon, but realized afterward that it works the best because it can be pounded smoother than regular steak (less fat). I was also amazed at how many strips you can get out of one filet! Remember to wet the skewers before you put them on the grill and make sure to wrap the bites up well so the cream cheese doesn't ooze out. Also, make sure to wrap SMALL bites, otherwise its way too hard to eat. The first time was a little experiment, but once you get this down, you will not be disappointed. Hope all this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very good. Another way to cook is to put these under the broiler. I wrapped the bacon in the other direction than the steak wrap so it kept the cream cheese inside. Excellent recipe!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
What an excellent recipe! I served these at an appetizer party we had for our family and I got MANY compliments. I did use diced jalapenos out of a can instead of fresh. People commented they were hot but they still loved them. I also used a montreal steak marinade instead of the italian dressing. Such a unique idea and I will definitly be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved it, My wife loved it, be careful not to cut the filet into too large of pieces. smaller sections were easier to cook. Im prefer spicy, so might add a little more jalopeno next time or a little crushed red pepper too. Deliscious! Well worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! We *LOVED* these! For me, they were a little tough to cook appropriately on the BBQ, but I'm BBQ challenged. I think I'll broil them next time - I had trouble cooking them evenly, but it was entirely user error. Absolutely phenomenal recipe. Fantastic taste, and pretty presentation! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was a little scared to use filet to try this recipe out, but went ahead anyway. I'm glad I did, it was fantastic!! I think you could get similar results using a less expensive cut if you’re not willing to pay the price for filet. Me and the hubby generally like things spicy and I found the jalapeño to be just enough. Next time I think I'll add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I've made this a couple of times & they always come out great. The only thing I change is to marinate with my own mix, though you could probably skip the marinade altogether. The tips I have are same as others: keep the pieces small and wrap the bacon in the opposite direction of the steak to keep the filling in. It's less messy to assemble if the cream cheese mix is well chilled. I've made on grill & in broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
recipe caught my eye but was scared to use the filet so I just used a couple of no name steaks... WONDERFUL doesn't do this justice! granted a bit putsy but weel worth it. next time i'll make a batch with smoked salmon in the cream cheese to go along with the jalepenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These bites are excellent. However, for budget sake I used boneless NY strip instead of mignon. They were a bit messy to assemble. Grilling was a challenge due to very hot flare ups from the bacon. Other than that... these bites are definitly worth your effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is requested for EVERY tailgate. Has won the award for "Best Food Item" for the year at our tailgate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States