Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This came out a little too hot for us. Served on celery or with mashed potatoes and it wasn't so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The only thing different I add is ricotta and several different white cheeses , my garden grows so many eggplants , I need more recipes , it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Good Lord..if I made so many changes I would post as my own recipe!! so disrespectful to the original poster…if you have totally modified the recipe then its no longer the owners. Either like or not! Don't dazzle us with your modifications..we all make them..cooking is an individual sport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
As previously stated, I too felt this recipe was an excellent basis for stuffed eggplant, especially since my only other experiences with it have been making eggplant lasagna, parm & roasted veggie stacks. Needless to say, when my husband asked me if I could make 'something like a twice-baked potato, but with eggplant?' I was stumped however, this recipe gave me a good starting point while allowing both flexibility and creativity. The changes I made were: 1) I used equal amounts of ground beef & chorizo. 2) I doubled the garlic & sautéed it in Greek Olive Oil along with a diced, medium-sized onion, parsley & a few shakes of garlic salt. I then added the cubed eggplant (like another user wrote, don't make the cubes too small, otherwise they break down & it becomes mushy & if it gets mushy, the awesomness of the eggplant is gone & it feels more like you're eating zucchini, which is still good, but when I want eggplant, I want eggplant, not zucchini.) Moving on, 3) I used no white wine nor did I add any additional olive oil, but instead, added some homemade spaghetti sauce & just enough breadcrumbs to "thicken up" the mix as I wasn't looking for 'runny' here. 4) I then stuffed the eggplant shells (which I had already brushed lightly with a mix of olive oil & a little garlic salt & roasted at 400 degrees F for 10 minutes) then sprinkled on grated Romano cheese before returning them to the oven for 10 minutes. I also suggest letting them sit for 5 minutes prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Really good recipe. I modified a little. This is a dry household, so no wine here ever. I used chicken broth instead. I also added 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese, mainly because it needed to be used. Glad I did, as it gave the stuffing a smooth, cheesy flavor. I also reduced the amount of crumbs to 1 cup. Really delicious, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Excellent Dish. I read through the reviews and made a few alterations as per previous reviews. In addition to the mushrooms, I used only 1/3 cup of bread crumbs as well as the cheese. I used ground pork and added chili paste and some Italian seasoning instead of the sausage. And finally i used about a 1/4 cup of fresh orange juice instead of wine. Everyone loved including my kids who apparently hate eggplant. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe calls for way too much bread crumbs,olive oil isn't necessary for sauteing sausage and this was too dry most likely on account of the amount of bread crumbs.My family and I love Eggplant Parm but this just didn't taste right,none of us enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent! I accidentally made too much stuffing, as I was only cooking for two, however the stuffing makes and excellent eggplant hash when cooked up with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Didn't stuff it in an eggplant--just tossed it in a 9x9 to cook. Added a little mozzarella cheese and baked. All 4 kids ate it (even after hearing the word eggplant) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this and it turned out great, except I would half the bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States