Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Our garden over flowed with eggplant and finding this recipe was such a blessing. I followed the recipe as written, BUT added more shrimp and as suggested added them last along with chopped zucchini...super supper will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I have made this two times. The first time was a little dry so this last time I used more olive oil and Parmesan cheese. Last time I used Panko bread crumbs, this time I am using the Italian bread crumbs. I think these little tweaks will make it better for me. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
We enjoyed it. It worked perfectly for me. I did double the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gieddy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this for my girlfriend and let me tell you, it rocked. I added a little extra cheeses and cut back on the bread crumbs. I also garnished it with a spoonful of marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I cut mine in half and steam cooked it in the microwave. I cut the breadcrumbs. I tried sticking to the recipe, but when it was put together, it still didn't taste right for me. Added a little Bay seasoning, sautéed some bell pepper and onion and added that too. Was better with the added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I really like this recipe and made it a few times. I do add a little more shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie713
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Yum! As other reviewers have said, this is a versatile recipe meaning you can fudge on the ingredients and still enjoy major success. I prepared this recipe as a casserole because it's fast and easy to assemble and it looks nice afterward. Here are some details you might find helpful. Dice a ~1-lb eggplant into cubes and microwave 4 minutes in a bowl/baking pan covered with waxed paper (don't add liquid). Saute 1/2-lb of shrimp (2-3x amount recommended) with basil and garlic in a 5.5-quart sauce pan using only a tablespoon or two of olive oil. Continue with recipe and add 1/2-tsp salt and 1/2-tsp pepper with the eggplant cubes. After mixing the Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs (I used 1/2-cup of Panko crumbs because that's what I had on hand) into the mixture, beat one jumbo egg or two large eggs. Blend beaten eggs into the shrimp/eggplant mixture. The egg will make the ingredients hold together nicely when they're served out of the casserole pan. I spread into a 10" round baking pan and it made a shallow layer. Was done in 15 minutes and ready to serve. (See photo #14)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bedelle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was simple and healthy and delicious its hard coming up with ways to live life as a pescatarian! Glad I ranacross this rrecipe! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Took some of the suggestions of others: decreased bread crumbs, increased shrimp, added chopped onion. Other than that I followed it to a T. It was still a mushy mess. Not sure what I should have done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
awesum recipe.......i used panko bread crumbs and added itallian breadcrumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States