Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is sooooo goood! - and much easier than making eggplant parmesan!!! I did not add the bread crumbs to the mixture. I added a chopped red pepper and a drained can of seasoned chopped tomatoes. I took the advice of others - and microwaved the eggplant shells for about 8 minutes, then stuffed it, poured some marinara sauce on top, baked it for about 1/2 hour, then sprinkled some mozzerella cheese on top, and put it back in the oven for a minute - until the cheese was all melted (and not hard and crusty!). SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
My five-year-old told me this was the most delicious supper I made this month. I skipped the "stuffing" part and just put this in a casserole dish. I added hot sausage, mushrooms, lots more oregano, some Italian seasoning, lots more parsley, and oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs (wheat allergies). I covered with spaghetti sauce and parmesan cheese. So good! Thank you for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
My husband and I loved this. A few changes. We added yellow and orange pepper and some mushrooms to the recipe and much less breadcrumbs (didn’t want it too mushy). Also used spaghetti sauce in lieu of tomato sauce and upped the cheese with Monterey Jack and Cheddar. Great base recipe though and we will definitely be having this again. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I can't really fault the flavors here - very tasty! - but I'm not so sure about the presentation. I think I'm with the reviewer who suggested using this method as a casserole instead; my eggplant "shells" were only edible on the bottom even though I covered it with foil. Maybe I should have used more sauce, but next time I think I'll just chop the entire eggplant and follow the recipe from there without stuffing - less waste that way. Still, a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I left out the bread crumbs, made homemade tomato sauce beforehand, and added lots of mushrooms to the recipe (personal preference). Overall, this dish was delicious, though it took more than a half hour to bake - more along the lines of 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes. I love eggplant and was looking for something easier to make than eggplant parmesan. I didn't think my 2-year-old would like it but he called it "pizza" and ate it up. Even DH liked he's not a big fan of eggplant. The only thing I changed was cooking it with foil wrapped around the baking dish. This made the eggplant more tender and easier to eat. Thanks for the tasty, easy-to-prepare recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I did make a few changes: I added 1/4 cup of chopped parsley, 1/4 cup of Italian cheese mixture, some extra chopped garlic, some dried crushed chilies, and about an ounce of spicy sausage to the stuffing mixture - we like lots of flavor! Topped it with canned diced Italian tomatoes and cheddar cheese. It turned out really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela S
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I was happy with this recipe. My boyfriend likes an eggplant dish so much at one of our local restaurants but said that everytime he tried to make it it turned out terrible. I have never really had it but decided to try it. I salted the eggplant and left it for 1/2 an hour before squeezing out some liquid. I think this helped a lot as it made it meatier rather then mushier. I also added three small breakfast sausages in with the eggplant which added a TON of great flavour, and doubled the garlic. My boyfriend was very happy with the result and is not longer scared of eggplant recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Are you supposed to eat the shell that holds all the stuffing? Mine was too tough so we just ate the filling. I also added some frozen okra I had left over. Instead of plain tomato sauce I used a spicy spaghetti sauce. Overall I will probably make again whenever eggplant is on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I have never liked eggplant, but thought I would try it one more time. This is fantastic , I loved it. I just ate the insides and was well satified. Great. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Vandiver, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States