Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
It is not typical that I try new recipe that hasn't been reviewed before. I am so glad I gave this a try. The best part about this dish is the fact that sauce is optional. It was a slight bit confusing that pasta sauce is in the ingredients list when it is baked without, but I cannot rate this any less than giving it the 5 star rating it deserves, and totally understood. I recommend adding the warmed sauce after it comes out of the oven on your individual serving plates, rather than putting all the sauce on and baking it, which may be assumed. Left overs will stay more fresh if sauce is added right before putting it in the microwave. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was SOOO good! A delicious twist on eggplant Parmesan. I followed the directions exactly, but used totally different ingredients for the cheese mixture because I wanted to use food I already had. I used about 3 ounces of grated Parmesan, 2 cloves minced garlic, 4 ounces of fresh feta crumbles and a tablespoon of cream cheese softened, to make sure the cheese mixture stuck together well. I also added a little thinly sliced green onion, salt, pepper, a sprinkle of garlic powder, & a sprinkle of cayenne. It was the best recipe I've made in a while & hubs loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCGBishop
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
A great recipe! I bought an eggplant not really knowing what I was going to make with it, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. I wasn't sure how the rolling and everything would work, but the recipe was spot on! We added some other ingredients to the ricotta filling (bacon and spinach) mostly because we had ingredients we needed to use, but it would have been just as good without! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
The recipe does not indicate what the green in the stuffing is. Not listed in ingredients or process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made this for dinner last night. Liked it a lot, but the odd thing is the recipe has no parmesan in it. I added mozza before adding the pasta sauce and then sprinkled parmesan on top before baking. Next time I won't roll the eggplant, just layer it because there was a lot of the cheese stuffing left over and it tasted so good that I want to use all of it. Only gave it 4 stars because I changed it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I thought the hardest part was cutting thin slices evenly down the length of the eggplant. If anyone has any tips on this, please share! However, I used the slices that were not going to make the cut by dicing them up and adding them to the cheese mixture. Turned out great and gave the cheese mixture a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I added chopped fresh basil. I think drained chopped frozen spinach would be good, too. Nice dish! Italian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I LOVE manicotti, this is the healthier version. My husband, who is not an adventurous eater, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Delicious. I probably won't make it often because it really was quite a bit of work with all the steps. However, it's a marvelous dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very good. Made it (slightly) healthier by breading with wheat flour, egg whites, and whole wheat bread crumbs, then baking instead of frying and it came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States