Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Thank you for a terrific, traditional recipe. It was very good and I will make it again for the family. A special thank you for the freezing suggestion. What a time and effort saver!! No boiling or straining, Thank you Barb, I never would have thought of it. Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I did not freeze the cabbage. I think by par broiling it, you "de-gas" the cabbage. I also cooked mine in a crock pot on low for 8-9 hours. It turned out better than I remember as a child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was an excellent recipe which we enjoyed tremendously! It took over 12 hours for the cabbage to thaw though. Think next time I'll take it out of the freezer the night before I want to cook the stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Hubby loved this and so did I! Prefer that it is baked instead of cooked on stovetop! Only variation I made the second time was that I used the family size can of tomato soup and poured over to basically submerge the cabbage rolls. I also added 3 tablespoons of soup to meat mixture and a clove of garlic to add a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOTARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Excellent recipe. I make something similiar/quicker. I chop the cabbage and saute with ground beef, spicy pork sausage, mix in cooked rice and tomatoe soup for one pot meal. Thanks Barb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Fantastic recipe! My husband doesn't care for cabbage but loved this. I too added more tomato soup for extra sauce for the mashed potato. I also cut the rice down and used UNCOOKED rice; it bakes itself in the oven. Freezing the cabbage is the coolest tip I've found on this website. So easy to make. Too cool!!!! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is just like the recipe I remember as a kid! Very good taste, and I loved the freezing the head of cabbage idea, however make sure you have enough time to thaw it before cooking--mine took about 9 hours. So, you may be better off steaming if you are in a time crunch. The only difference I made in the recipe was not cooking the rice. As stated before, it cooks in the oven, so there isn't any need. I also used tooth picks on some of my rolls b/c teh ones with smaller leaves started unrolling a bit. And, like the others, I used a family size can of tomato soup b/c I wanted extra sauce for the white rice side dish. Will make again, but next time will check them more frequently in the oven because mine got done slightly quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of the Best is the only thing that comes to mind, thanks my family and i will be doing this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_gurl_luvinmafamily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
great recipe,i boiled the cabbage instead and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COROZALCOP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
A delicious and easy dish. The only thing I do differently is microwave the head of cabbage rather than freeze it. It works well and doesn't take as long as freezing and defrosting a whole cabbage. Just remove some of the core, stick the whole head in a bowl with a bit of water, cover it, then cook as you might a head of cauliflower. Depending on the size of the cabbage, it can take 8-10 minutes. I flipped it over halfway through. Let it cool & remove the leaves. I have also substituted ground turkey for the beef with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States