Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Pretty good, I boiled the cabbage instead and used ground turkey instead of beef. It was pretty good, but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dejastew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Good basic receipe - used ground turkey and savoy cabbage where the leaves are firmer and easy to work with when seperating - cut off the hard core from the leaves and boiled them until soft enough to roll the meat filling. I also added garlic and thawed, squeesed cut frozen spinach. I tried using instant brown rice in lieu of the cooked rice, added two cans of tomato soup - and it all worked. Delicious and you can freeze left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
A delicious and easy dish. The only thing I do differently is microwave the head of cabbage rather than freeze it. It works well and doesn't take as long as freezing and defrosting a whole cabbage. Just remove some of the core, stick the whole head in a bowl with a bit of water, cover it, then cook as you might a head of cauliflower. Depending on the size of the cabbage, it can take 8-10 minutes. I flipped it over halfway through. Let it cool & remove the leaves. I have also substituted ground turkey for the beef with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
great recipe,i boiled the cabbage instead and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COROZALCOP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had to give this three stars, I realize every family has their own way of doing stuffed cabbage, but I NEVER freeze the cabbage plus the mixture was too bland. I always core the cabbage and boil it first. I also use 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground pork, 2 eggs, parsley, and a bit of garlic powder. I also use tomato sauce mixed with a bit of leftover cabbage water instead of tomato soup. I baked it the oven for 2 & 1/2 hours. This is always best served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I adore stuffed cabbage!!! I have never heard of freezing the cabbage, I will try that next time. I get tired of burning my fingers when I peel off the leaves during the boiling process. To the person who gets gas, (tee hee, me too) I use "Beano" first. I doubt it makes a difference in THAT department if you blanch the cabbage or freeze it. Cabbage is a roughage, made to cause gas, if you ask me!! I have never made these with tomato soup. I love to use the hot V-8 juice with mashed up canned tomatoes. I have never cooked anything without garlic, so of course I added that too. Other than that, these are my stuffed cabbage rolls!! Super recipe. I also like to do the same with green peppers!!! Stuff them with all the same stuff, and hot V-8 and mashed tomatoes. Yum yum!!!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a good basic stuffed cabbage. I didn't pre cook the rice at all. Also, to make it a little easier I used jarred marinara sauce and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The reason i'm even giving this recipe 3 stars is because, at no fault of the person who submitted this, at the advise of someone who previously reviewed this recipe, I did not cook the rice first. Big mistake! It was like eating raw rice. (My fault). But with that aside. The cabbage turned out still somewhat crunchy and also a bit dry even after basting about every 10 min. The meat was also very dry. I used lean ground sirloin. Not sure if that would make a difference. Also bland for my taste. In addition to salt and pepper, I also used garlic salt and a dash of worchester sauce in the meat. Very disappointed. I love cabbage rolls and was so looking forward to making my own for the first time. With the good ratings thought I couldn't go wrong. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Somehow the cabbage turned out very chewy and difficult to cut....but the inside was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of the Best is the only thing that comes to mind, thanks my family and i will be doing this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_gurl_luvinmafamily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States