Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is your basic stuffed cabbage recipe. I made the following changes in order to solve some of the issues I read about in the reviews: First, I parboiled the cabbage rather than froze it. It saves time and there is less flatulence. Next, I used one can each of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, seasoned up the meat and sauce with a blend of spices which can be changed up as the mood hits. I used Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMickas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I question some preparations about this recipe. I am wondering why it is necessary to freeze the cabbage head the night before and then defrost it before stuffing it? I baked the cabbage rolls the full amount of time that it says too but the cabbage was not tender and very hard to chew. It did have good flavor and I am going to try it again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I really liked this recipe. My 2nd time ever having cabbage rolls & they taste as good as the 1st time. I only put 4 stars because I needed more cabbage and the cabbage needed to be cooked longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made it for my husband, he loved it. I made a change . I used ground pork, beef and veal package at the grocery store. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I've been making stuffed cabbage leaves for years. I never heard the trick of freezing the cabbage -- but give it lots of time to defrost. But I hated the stuffing! Use 1/3 g beef, 1/3 g veal and 1/3 g pork. Cook your rice only half-done so that it easily absorbs juices from the meats. Add a can of fireroasted diced tomatoes to the soup mix. After the cabbage rolls are lined up and ready to bake, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Try adding sauerkraut over the top before poring on the tomato sauce. Traditional cabbage rolls always age a day before they're cooked/served. This recipe prolongs the enjoyment even longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I also fried separate a lot of shredded carrot and chopped onion added tomato sauce and put it on the bottom and between each lawyer of stuffed cabbage, cooked t in crock pot for about 7 hours came out delicious. Usually I put cabbage in hot eater and then with knife and big kitchen tongs taking leaves apart, I did the same thing but also left cabbage in the freezer over night then put in the hot water and did it as usually, with freezer one much easy bec leaves so flexible and not ripping apart while u peeling :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made ,it was good,but i did some deviation from the original: i used a mixture half -half ground beef and ground pork,it makes it softer, salt and pepper enough to give taste to the meat, i also used a lot of fine chopped fresh dill when covered with diluted tomato sauce and added up a cup of sauerkraut juice from one of the sauerkraut plastic bags you can find in the fridge of the grocery store.....it was really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Instead of ground beef, I used Italian style turkey sausage. My husband ate this for breakfast, lunch and dinner for 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Bland. Needs spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good. Make sure to add lots of sauce and use cabbage leafs without the hard steam part or it becomes hard to cut. Easy to prep and make. Makes two good meals for a single guy like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States