Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I liked it, but found myself in the bathroom due to tremendous gas. It gave me the poops! It was tasty though. Jeez, I just farted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Excellent recipe. I make something similiar/quicker. I chop the cabbage and saute with ground beef, spicy pork sausage, mix in cooked rice and tomatoe soup for one pot meal. Thanks Barb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I did not freeze the cabbage. I think by par broiling it, you "de-gas" the cabbage. I also cooked mine in a crock pot on low for 8-9 hours. It turned out better than I remember as a child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Hubby loved this and so did I! Prefer that it is baked instead of cooked on stovetop! Only variation I made the second time was that I used the family size can of tomato soup and poured over to basically submerge the cabbage rolls. I also added 3 tablespoons of soup to meat mixture and a clove of garlic to add a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOTARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I prefer to blanche the cabbage and I added garlic powder to the mixture (I'm a garlic lover.) The only thing I did differently was instead of using the soup, I mixed a can of tomato sauce with a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a 1/4 of cider vinegar (you can also use a 1/4 of lemon juice if you prefer but I like the cider vinegar.) Pour over rolls and continue with the orig recipe. I also make extra sauce and boil it down until it thickens and add that over the cooked rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was an excellent recipe which we enjoyed tremendously! It took over 12 hours for the cabbage to thaw though. Think next time I'll take it out of the freezer the night before I want to cook the stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I separated the leaves from the cabbage head and steamed them in the microwave for a few minutes, covered with some wet paper towels. That saved a LOT of time. I made the stuffing as the recipe stated and found it too bland. Next time I will add garlic powder and will use uncooked rice. The rice will cook in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is just like the recipe I remember as a kid! Very good taste, and I loved the freezing the head of cabbage idea, however make sure you have enough time to thaw it before cooking--mine took about 9 hours. So, you may be better off steaming if you are in a time crunch. The only difference I made in the recipe was not cooking the rice. As stated before, it cooks in the oven, so there isn't any need. I also used tooth picks on some of my rolls b/c teh ones with smaller leaves started unrolling a bit. And, like the others, I used a family size can of tomato soup b/c I wanted extra sauce for the white rice side dish. Will make again, but next time will check them more frequently in the oven because mine got done slightly quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had to give this three stars, I realize every family has their own way of doing stuffed cabbage, but I NEVER freeze the cabbage plus the mixture was too bland. I always core the cabbage and boil it first. I also use 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground pork, 2 eggs, parsley, and a bit of garlic powder. I also use tomato sauce mixed with a bit of leftover cabbage water instead of tomato soup. I baked it the oven for 2 & 1/2 hours. This is always best served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Never would have thought of freezing the cabbage; great touch. Used crushed tomatoes in puree instead of soup ( soup is too salty ). Added a handful of raisins for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States