Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The reason i'm even giving this recipe 3 stars is because, at no fault of the person who submitted this, at the advise of someone who previously reviewed this recipe, I did not cook the rice first. Big mistake! It was like eating raw rice. (My fault). But with that aside. The cabbage turned out still somewhat crunchy and also a bit dry even after basting about every 10 min. The meat was also very dry. I used lean ground sirloin. Not sure if that would make a difference. Also bland for my taste. In addition to salt and pepper, I also used garlic salt and a dash of worchester sauce in the meat. Very disappointed. I love cabbage rolls and was so looking forward to making my own for the first time. With the good ratings thought I couldn't go wrong. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Somehow the cabbage turned out very chewy and difficult to cut....but the inside was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of the Best is the only thing that comes to mind, thanks my family and i will be doing this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_gurl_luvinmafamily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yum! I added some podered garlic to the meat mixture. I also used two cans of soup, one can of water, and added about a teaspoon each of basil and oregano to the sauce. I cooked these a little longer than stated and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I prefer to blanche the cabbage and I added garlic powder to the mixture (I'm a garlic lover.) The only thing I did differently was instead of using the soup, I mixed a can of tomato sauce with a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a 1/4 of cider vinegar (you can also use a 1/4 of lemon juice if you prefer but I like the cider vinegar.) Pour over rolls and continue with the orig recipe. I also make extra sauce and boil it down until it thickens and add that over the cooked rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I separated the leaves from the cabbage head and steamed them in the microwave for a few minutes, covered with some wet paper towels. That saved a LOT of time. I made the stuffing as the recipe stated and found it too bland. Next time I will add garlic powder and will use uncooked rice. The rice will cook in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is just like the recipe I remember as a kid! Very good taste, and I loved the freezing the head of cabbage idea, however make sure you have enough time to thaw it before cooking--mine took about 9 hours. So, you may be better off steaming if you are in a time crunch. The only difference I made in the recipe was not cooking the rice. As stated before, it cooks in the oven, so there isn't any need. I also used tooth picks on some of my rolls b/c teh ones with smaller leaves started unrolling a bit. And, like the others, I used a family size can of tomato soup b/c I wanted extra sauce for the white rice side dish. Will make again, but next time will check them more frequently in the oven because mine got done slightly quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
These were great. We enjoyed the leftovers for a couple of days. I like more sauce, so at least two cans of tomato soup for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
stuffed cabbage is a great idea, but after freezing the head of letuce, i found that it was not nearly soft enough to wrap the meat/rice mixture around. it works much better if you boil the cabbage leaves, fill them and then stew the stuffed cabbage on the stove top. also it helps to mix up the meat using box beef and pork and add fried onion to the mixture. this recipe can definately be tweeked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEKSJAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Recipe kind of bland. I added sausage and used a family size tomato soup. I loved the idea of freezing the cabbage overnight before using it. Will make again but with noted changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States