Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
To me this is a basic recipe. What I do is cook the hamburg up with onions and garlic pepper then add a package of taco seasoning and water, and cooked rice. I also add re-fried beans for added taste. It is spicy but not too and with the taco seasoning it just adds that punch of spice it needs. I then use a can of Accents tomatoes instead of the soup. We just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
AWESOME!! This is very tasty and scores real high points with family and friends. The only thing I did differently, was, I omitted the egg, and added a small can of mushrooms(stems & pieces) and a 14 oz can of spaghetti sauce, to the rice and groundbeef mixture, instead of the tomato soup. I did however use the tomato soup, to pour over the cabbage rolls, after placing them in the pan, for the oven. That gives the cabbage rolls an awesome tomato flavor. *** Just a Note*** Make sure to not over cook the cabbage leaves. They only need a few minutes in the boiling water, to make them soft. If you over cook them, they may tare when you take them out to drain. I would suggest about 4 minutes maximum, after the water begins to boil. The leaves are suppose to be soft enough to roll the mixture in, but firm enough to hold the shape, once the rolls are stuffed. Also, as a tip, instead of trying to pull the cabbage leaves off the head first ( as that might tare them up becasue the leaves are so brittle) you can put the whole head of cabbage in water, bring the water to a slow boil , and you can see and can feel that the leaves would drop away from the head, with ease.This is just awesome. I know it takes alittle time to prepare, but believe me, it is so worth it. GOOD LUCK !!! & BON APPETITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueZanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I love this recipe! It can be a bit time consuming, but it makes a lot and everyone always loves it! I use pasta sauce instead of tomato soup, but other than that, I follow the recipe as is. I also bake it at 350 for 1 hour. To keep the rolls from sticking to the pan, I put down a layer of sauce then line the pan with cabbage leaves. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. I've made it several times already. I did change just a couple of things. I used a 1/2 cup of rice instead of a 1/3 (I love rice) Also, instead of plain tomato sauce, I use a jar of spaghetti sauce. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Reminds me of hunting deep in the Allegheny forest. This was a deer camp staple that never failed to satisfy and warm you up when you returned half frozen from the woods! I multiply this recipe and use an electric roaster. This is perfect for large gatherings. A buffet favorite that will make you a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Van Aken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was my first time making this dish and call me stupid, but I did not realize that you added the meat mixture raw instead of cooking it first. The recipe does not indicate either way. By the time I figured it out I was too deep into it and did not want to toss out five bucks of beef. So I detoured and prepared a different dish. Please be as clear as possible when posting a recipe as some of us are still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I baked it in the oven for about 45 minutes instead of using the stove. I love the tomato soup sauce (I added about 1/4 cup water to the soup). I'm not a fan of tomato sauce on my stuffed cabbage so the tomato soup was perfect-I might add a little more pepper the next time, but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was very good and not as difficult as I anticipated. I used diced tomatoes on top of the rolls instead of tomato soup, and served with boiled cubed potatoes mixed with some of the leftover cabbage after I got the good leaves off. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
First time making this, turned out well. Parboiled cabbage leaves for 5 minutes, cooled down with cold water in a colander. Made some slight changes to recipe. I used whole grain converted rice chopped green pepper with the meat. For the sauce one 5.5 oz can of V8 whisked together with an 8 oz tomato sauce and added chunky black bean/corn salsa with a glug-glug of Worcestershire sauce. Decided to bake it in a 9x13x2 glass covered with foil for one hour at 375, then uncovered for 20 minutes. Came out great -- since I'm single, I'll be eating it for the next few days. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The meat was dry and underseasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States