Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
i've made this recipe many times and the cabbage rolls are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Yummy! We lived these. My husband had never tried cabbage rolls and now we made them twice this week. The second time, we had leftover diced tomatoes so we used those instead of the tomatoe soup - they were just as delicious! I would like to note that we made about 20 rolls with the filling mixture....Maybe we had a really small cabbage..?? I'm not sure but they tasted delicious & that's all that matters to us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made the stuffed cabbage recipe as is and my family and I thought it was bland. It definitely needs more flavor. The cooking process was tedious having to based often. I would have preferred to bake it. So I only give one thumbs up to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I cored and froze the cabbage in a plastic bag; took it out the night before to thaw in the sink... this preserves the flavour of the cabbage rather than steaming it. I also added a can of tomatoes in the italian seasoning. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
To add a touch of Hungarian to this and after rolls have been made, layer a casserole dish 15x10 with sauer kraut; sprinkle about 1/4 cup of brown sugar over kraut. If want, add sliced potatotes on top of kraut place cabbage rolls on top, and bake for about 30-45 minutes in 350 degree oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I changed this recipe a bit myself. I browned the meat (I used ground turkey) with a small diced onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, 1 tbsp of dried oregano and 3 tbsp of fresh parsley. After I drained the meat mixture I added a can of tomato paste and simmered for 3 minutes. I then added the rice and removed from the heat. While that was cooling I blanched the cabbage 10 cabbage leaves - I did a couple extra in case some of them split before stuffing. Stuff the cabbage leaves and place seam side down in 13X9 baking dish. Top with tomato soup and bake in preheated 375 oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This recipe is a very good take on a classic and filling family dish. I followed the recipe exactly. The family all enjoyed the rolls and the unique sauce but still thought the stuffing needed some extra spice to it. Leftovers were excellent! A very useful tip: A very simple way to prepare the cabbage leaves for this recipe, or any other recipe which requires the leaves to be used as a wrap is to freeze the head of cabbage whole - it's like a frozen bowling ball! Then thaw the cabbage completely - it takes 1-2 days. Core the cabbage. The leaves pull away very easily without all the fuss and bother of the cumbersome boiling, cooling and sorting of cabbage leaves in the traditional method described. This method will reduce your prep time and effort considerably, minimize clean up time, and make the stuffing job a real breeze. You will never go back to the traditional method once you try this freezing technique. Try it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I've never made anything like this before so working with cabbage like this was new to me. everyone ate it including my 3 yr old. We will be adding it to our go to list of hamburger recipes:) on a side note I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the hamburger before or not so I didn't leave it raw but mostly cooked. If anyone has done it raw and it worked out please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe, almost my grandma's!! She used half beef and half ground pork. She also used crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
First time trying this recipe. It was easy, delicious and my family loved it. The only thing I did different was to make it with a tomatillo sauce instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States