Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I love how you all 'play with your food'. I have found that the simplest traditional recipes are usually the most satisfying. And there are so many ways to make it! This one has nine basic ingredients that are in all pantries and kitchens. You can use cabbage leaves like the slavs, grape leaves like the Greeks, even pastry sheets; filled, rolled and fried like the Filipinos! Everybody loves cabbage rolls! Want fancy? Get Chef John's "Lamb in Cabbage Rolls" with 23 ingredients! It has once again started me thinking...a green leafy thing, with a kind of meat,rice and seasoning thing and some kind of tomato thing. What about stuffed collard greens, or turnip or mustard greens? Kale? Lamb, beef, Pork, Venison, Buffalo? How about Cabbage and meat Sushi, rolled in Nori with a tomato-ish dipping sauce? Rice sheets? Call it a 'Winter Roll'! There's 28 recipes here listed under "Cabbage Rolls", a full month of rolls! This is the recipe my family used, but I find that I like it much better with Pasta sauce with a little sugar added. Thanks for all the great ideas and family traditions. Personally, I'm a 'core, steam and de-vein' kind of guy...it's just how I Roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is the first time I have ever attempted cabbage rolls and it turned out delish. I made a few changes to the original. Added a packet of onion soup mix to the meat mixture. added 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce and some garlic powder to tomato sauce. I like my food saucy so I used a can of tomato soup, a can of tomato sauce and 1/2 of a can of diced tomatoes. Turned out great. Thank for the great start recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love savoy cabbage and find it much easier to handle than regular cabbage. I bring a little water to a boil, add the head of cabbage, simmer it for about 10 to 12 minutes, and take leaves off as they get limp. Savoy cabbage is easy to roll and keeps its shape much better. I beat an egg with about 1/3 cup of milk, added Italian breadcrumbs and some Ritz cracker crumbs, finely diced onion, garlic powder, dried thyme, salt, pepper, a few drops of hot sauce. I cut up some of the cabbage leaves, put them in the bottom of a baking dish, cabbage rolls on top, and then add a 24-oz jar of tomato sauce. Bake in 350 oven for at least 1-1/2 hours. Sooo good. I always look to allrecipes.com for recipe ideas but usually change them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I noticed that people went so far off this recipe and then rated it. The only thing I did different was to add an extra tomato soup can. I liked it a lot for being so simple and easy. I mean, you can't expect a cabbage roll to be restaurant quality or anything, but for good home cooking, nice reicpe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So Good. Well worth the time. Made my own sauce, could not pour tomato soup on this. I added a few spices to a can of stewed tomato's, such as garlic, bay leaf, oregano and basil. Wonderful with mashed potatoes and any fresh vegetable. Kids and Dad loved it. I also baked it in the oven @350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
turned out great - I took quite a few suggestions listed here and made a few of my own. Added more spices and seasonings: worcestershire sauce, cayenne pepper, paprika, oregano, basil, parsley, garlic; didn't use tomato soup substituted with a small can of tomato paste and a jar of homemade salsa. Substituted rice for bread crumbs - just personal preference today. Layered cabbage leaves on bottom and top of the rolls and then covered with homemade stewed & crushed tomatoes. Baked in the oven. Served with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I didn't have any tomato soup so I used 2 - 8oz cans of tomato sauce 2 Tblsp brown sugar and 1 tap of Wircestershire sauce. Mixed together and spooned over the cabbage rolls just like in the original recipe. So yummy. Next time I'll try the tomato soup, much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A little time intensive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a wonderful, easy recipe for stuffed cabbage. I have made this recipe several times with a couple of variations. I use ground turkey instead of the beef however, this can lead to a dry inside. For this reason I make smaller rolls ending up with 10-12 rolls instead of 8. I also use two cans of tomato soup and add some water to the pan while it's cooking to help it stay moist. This also helps with storage and re-heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States