Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've been making stuffed cabbage rolls for years using ground beef and love them. I thought I would try this with Johnsonville's Italian Sausage. I used their links, removing the casing, in place of the ground beef in this recipe and my husband liked them better than using beef. Me, on the other hand, prefers to use a good ground chuck. Instead of boiling my cabbage leaves to soften them, I just stuck the whole head of cabbage into my steamer pot and steamed until I could loosen them from the head. I had to do it in batches but it worked perfectly. I also used onion powder in place of the onion since my husband won't eat anything with onions. Normally I simmer these in a pot on the stove but I didn't feel like babysitting the pot so I put them in a baking pan and basted them with the soup a couple times throughout the cooking process. I baked at 350 degrees for around an hour or so. Good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I used the tomato sauce that one reviewer on here had advised, and it still didn't save the dish. They were O.K, but it seems like a lot of work to just produce an "O.K" meal. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made these with a few changes. I used ground beef and ground sausage. I used a pack of onion soup mix and added fresh parsley. I baked on a bed of sauerkraut on low heat for a few hours. I served with mashed potatoes. It was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I use a similar recipe but have never put an egg in. For a topping, I use a can of tomato soup, half can water and 1/4 can vinegar. This came from my grandmother. If you take the cabbage leaf, cut a V where the thick stem is, put meat in other end, roll leaf and when you get near cut part, fold in kinda like a taco and finish roll. No need for toothpick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe varies a little bit from mine that I got from my Grandmother. One trick that my Mom taught me is to add about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of vinegar to the sauce - whether you use tomato soup or sauce or canned tomatoes. The vinegar gives the cabbage rolls a tang that you don't get otherwise. Try it and see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Jorgenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe. It was a little bland, so I think I will add garlic and more seasonings next time. But the recipe was easy to follow and make. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made these for the first time for my friends birthday dinner and everyone loved them. They wanted the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Che Che

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
loved it!!! made only change to the type of sauce. used tomato sauce and chopped onions 10.5 ounce cans each. i also cooked the rice in 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water. it was dificult seperating the cabbage leaves but with patience i aovercame. then i parboiled them for a couple of minutes to soften. simmered in an electric skillet for 45 minutes. totally awesome!!! hope my mother doesnt see this cause i think they are better than hers. lol. sorry mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good. I did use some options that others suggested. 1/2 ground beef-1/2 sausage. I used 15 oz. tomato sauce and 15oz diced tomatoes w/olive oil & oregano. Slow cooked for 8 hours. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
i do this recipe but i add a can of sour krout in it too either way oven or cooker works and i freeze them too. taste better the 2nd time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States