Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was delicious...though a little too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I discovered this recipe a few weeks ago and when I cooked it for the first time my children loved it, even my son who hates cabbage. I followed the recipe except I added a jar of Mushroom and tomatoes sauce to my Mince mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I make it twice a month. In addition to listed seasonings, I add seasoned salt to the meat mixture. Then I place the smaller cabbage leaves in the pot to serve as a bed for the stuffed cabbages. This prevents stuffed cabbage burn and makes more yummy cabbage to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This recipe was just alright. I probably won't make it again. I added a good amount of rosemary, oregano and thyme to it as I thought it might be bland but it still was. It wasn't a bad recipe just not a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This recipe is similar to mine except I do not use tomato juice or even tomato soup. I used 1 Can Crushed Tomatoes and 1 can whole peeled tomatoes drained. and I stew them in a pressure cooker for 20 mins rather then bake for 1 hour. The cabbage is tender (you don't have to worry about the veins in the cabbage) and the meat is fully cooked. Yes it's a thin sauce but that's good to sope up with a good french crusty bread. Great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Putnam, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I tweaked this recipe. It is truly wonderful on a cold winter's day. I call it Eastern European comfort food. I parboil my cabbage leaves by placing them into boiling water for one minute. I then shut off the fire and leave them in the water, taking them out one bye one to stuff each leaf. They are not too hot to work with but this is a necessary step to allow for easy and pliable rolling. In a large bowl, I put 1 and 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef, unflavored bread crumb about 1/2 cup, 1 cup cooked rice, 2 beaten eggs,1/2 fresh green pepper finely chopped, half a small onion finely chopped, 1/2 cup golden raisins,zest of a lemon (for extraordinary freshness), 2 beaten egges, salt, pepper to taste. My sauce is started in a seperate pot- in 1 Tbs olive oil Sautee half green pepper, 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped add two cans of tomato sauce to one can of tomato puree, Juice of one fresh lemon, 1 Tbs of sugar and 1 cap of white vinegar. cook for about 1/2 hour. Preheat oven to 350. In a large baking pan ladle some sauce on bottom. Tightly pack your cabbage rolls into pan, you'll get twelve rolls into a large pan. Cover them with a bit more sauce. Cover with foil and bake 1 and 1/2 hours. It is a lot of work but worth it. If you are like me you'll love to be in the kitchen on a cold day cookin' away! Enjoy. Tip- If I have leftover meat and cabbage, I cook it in a large pot (the one the sauce is already in) making meatballs from meat mixture- I drop meatballs in raw to sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe is great if you use tomato soup mixed w/water. I triple the recipe and freeze some for a quick thaw at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
GREAT RECIPE JUST LIKE GRANDMA GOLUB'S. INSTEAD OF BOILING CABBAGE IT IS MUCH EASIER IF YOU PLACE THE CABBAGE HEAD IN THE FREEZER LET IT FREEZE THEN TAKE OUT AND LET THAW. THE LEAVES PULL OFF WITH EASE THEN STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
843 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I made it just as it was written except I added and extra can of tomato juice. Also, I baked it instead of on the stovetop. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This stuffed cabbabe recipe was very good. I doubled the recipe and added 1 diced onion and 2 cloves minced garlic. I cooked them with tomato sauce instead of tomato juice, and I also used a 1/2 cup of vinegar. My family really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States