Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I love cabbage rolls and this recipe is great..I did make a few changes, I added more seasoning to the meat mixture and instead of tomatoe juice, I used tomato soup (mixed with water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I did love this. I remember eating this as a child. I needed to add a little Chalula to give it more flavour. My boyfriend wasn't impressed with this, so I have to give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I found this way too bland. Not enough sweetness or sourness. Next time I will at least double the sugar and vinegar, as well as try some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good, definitely use the tomato juice, not sauce and definitely season your meat as others suggested. I used a little dill, chopped onion and garlic powder in a ground turkey and pork mixture. Delish, hubby ate 7 rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. Although next time I will increase cooking time a little. The cabbage still seemed a little "tough"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
needs more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was the first time I have made stuffed cabbage, and this recipe was good, but not great. It was good because it was pretty easy to follow. What would have made it MUCH better would be for it to call for seasoning the beef/rice mixture before putting it into the cabbage leaves. When I was finished, the stuffed cabbage was extremely under-seasoned, so I had to add a ton of salt and pepper to each cabbage package. Had I added that in with the beef, I don't think it would have turned out so bland. I also added a little hot sauce the the finished product, which spiced it up just enough. This recipe is really lacking in flavor and could benefit from some seasoning! The tomato didn't really come out in the finished product...maybe tomato paste would help? Also, I think it could have used more vinegar. I think that next time I will find another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were great - my whole family enjoyed them - just like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Good recipe,I added chopped fresh dill to the stuffing for more flavor. It tasted alot like my moms (Gulumpkies?) did. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Menio67 is absolutely correct. If you have to make changes, the one thing you don't want to touch is the tomato juice. It becomes something completely different if you use sauce, paste, etc. Personally I use onions but this recipe is easily close enough. Do yourself a big favor and stick to the recipe for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States