Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I also put head of cabbage ,after coring, in the freezer. This recipe is similar to the way my Polish mom made stuffed cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I have never made stuffed cabbage & was very excited to finally try it! After reading the comments, I did add onion & garlic to the meat mixture along with a healthy amount of adobo. The preboil left the inner leaves still tuff. And since they were the smallest (on top) after 1hr 15mins they still were underdone. I lined the bottom of the pot with leaves since you mentioned the bottom ones possibly burning. I also added a couple chopped up tomatoes. Cooked on the stovetop, after 40mins I covered the pot leaving a small vent & cooked another 35mins. Everyone loved it! Hubby asked for it every other week! I am going to try it baked & maybe more juice than water. Thought I'd add... my son (who is 2) came back to the kitchen 5 times in 1hr to eat another serving of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Hubby liked it as is, the kids hated it and I thought it needed more tomato flavor/less tomato juice flavor. Perhaps some spices and fresh pressed garlic would help? Will make it again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I was really frustrated by this recipe. I had no idea what this was supposed to turn out like, as I have never had stuffed cabbage before, but my family adores the ingredients in this so we though we'd give it a try. I wasn't certain if I was supposed to cook the ground beef or not because the recipe didn't say, so I erred on the side of caution and prepared this with it cooked. Garlic powder 'to taste' is not enough information for someone cooking this for the first time. I like garlic, so I added it liberally. It was still not enough. Again, not knowing what the flavor was supposed to be in the end, it was frustrating. The picture shows thick hearty sauce over the top, but it made no sense that that consistency could be achieved from just vegetable juice, vinegar, and sugar. But I trusted the recipe and positive reviews and made it how the recipe dictated. In the end, I had a sort of tasteless watery tomato soup with cabbage pods submerged within. It needed salt, badly. I will not be making this again. However, I will be making an extremely loose adaptation with a robust marinara or spaghetti sauce and chunky veggies; and lots of garlic, onion, salt and pepper in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My husband has loved stuffed cabbage all his life. I made this recipe and would not change a thing!!!! He said it's the best he ever had...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My first time making this. I was craving stuffed cabbage, even though I disliked it as a kid. Instead of calling my mom for her recipe, i used this. I could tell it was just a basic base for the dish, so I doctored it up just a bit. I used half g.beef and g.pork. I add some spices. garlic and such to the meat. I used plain tomato sauce, instead of juice. I like things saucy, so added a little more sauce than called for. Everyone ate it up. I'm making it again two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Bland and too much rice.. tomato soup didn't help either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
BLAND! Good base recipe but needs much more than "garlic powder to taste". Lots of salt and pepper in the meat mixture. Also no need to cover with water, this made the sauce much too watery. If you cook with the lid on this will steam the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
this is a good one my mom was 100 percent Polish and mad them the same way just one thing differnt .She would use a pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States