Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
GREAT RECIPE JUST LIKE GRANDMA GOLUB'S. INSTEAD OF BOILING CABBAGE IT IS MUCH EASIER IF YOU PLACE THE CABBAGE HEAD IN THE FREEZER LET IT FREEZE THEN TAKE OUT AND LET THAW. THE LEAVES PULL OFF WITH EASE THEN STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
863 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
With a few twists (used fresh garlic, added 1 tsp sea salt to meat mixture, used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato juice, and baked at 350 for 1 1/2 hours)this turned out scrumptious. This is a fun recipe to experiment with--you are pretty much guaranteed a good result. The perfect comfort food for the fall and winter. Great as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This was a great recipe, thank you for sharing it. However, i added garlic salt, fresh green pepper, and fresh tomato to the meat. Next time i will add some ground sausage. I also baked it at 350 for 1-1/2 hrs. instead of cooking it on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I tweaked this recipe. It is truly wonderful on a cold winter's day. I call it Eastern European comfort food. I parboil my cabbage leaves by placing them into boiling water for one minute. I then shut off the fire and leave them in the water, taking them out one bye one to stuff each leaf. They are not too hot to work with but this is a necessary step to allow for easy and pliable rolling. In a large bowl, I put 1 and 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef, unflavored bread crumb about 1/2 cup, 1 cup cooked rice, 2 beaten eggs,1/2 fresh green pepper finely chopped, half a small onion finely chopped, 1/2 cup golden raisins,zest of a lemon (for extraordinary freshness), 2 beaten egges, salt, pepper to taste. My sauce is started in a seperate pot- in 1 Tbs olive oil Sautee half green pepper, 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped add two cans of tomato sauce to one can of tomato puree, Juice of one fresh lemon, 1 Tbs of sugar and 1 cap of white vinegar. cook for about 1/2 hour. Preheat oven to 350. In a large baking pan ladle some sauce on bottom. Tightly pack your cabbage rolls into pan, you'll get twelve rolls into a large pan. Cover them with a bit more sauce. Cover with foil and bake 1 and 1/2 hours. It is a lot of work but worth it. If you are like me you'll love to be in the kitchen on a cold day cookin' away! Enjoy. Tip- If I have leftover meat and cabbage, I cook it in a large pot (the one the sauce is already in) making meatballs from meat mixture- I drop meatballs in raw to sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe this evening---it was the first time I ever made sufed cabbage. I used the suggestions of substituting spaghetti sauce, fresh garlic, dash fo sea salt and added some chopped onion. My husband's family is from Hungary and he sears he has never tasted anything better...thansk so much for the recipe. It was fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is the same recipe I have been using for 30 years, wouldn't change a thing. Everyone has different tastes and that's what makes the world interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Wonderful and hearty. We added a little minced onion to the meat mixture. I also layered some sliced onion and sauerkraut with the rolls in the pot. I added brown sugar and a pinch of cloves to the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
I'm sure I could have found a receipe with Tomato Soup but I used this (twice so far) and substituted 2 can tomato soup per Lb of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This was just like my Grandma Printz use to make it. It smelled just like Grandma's kitchen. I'll be making this alot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe is excellent, the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States