Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Overall,stuffed cabbage is a great polish dish.However I use ground pork instead of beef,there is a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NusiaG.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristian
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made it with deer meat and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
great recipe! instead of tomato juice i used sweet and sour sauce. it was great. but you have to bake it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I had to give this four stars, it would have been five but I had to make a number of additions to the recipe. I used 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground pork, 2 eggs, parsley, salt and pepper. I baked it the oven for 2 & 1/2 hours. This is always best served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I haven't had a good, not-tomatoey stuffed cabbage in a long time and hoped this would be it...but sadly it wasn't. Since this was my first time making the recipe I followed the directions completely and was very disappointed in how bland...almost tasteless...it was. I should have paid more attention to the people who gave it 4 or 5 stars - they all seem to have tinkered with the recipe so they were rating their own version, not the one posted here. Even my DH, who loves just about everything, barely ate any. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Just made it and my part Polish husband really liked it! My twist was adding cooked brown rice instead of white and adding some caraway seeds (supposed to compliment cabbage and help w/ digestion per German friend). Topped w/ sour cream before serving. Next time, I'll try it by baking or cooking in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My grandmother always made delicious stuffed cabbage, and I have never had it anywhere that compared. I have always found it bland, and too tomato-saucy, which is more like Italian food, not true to the Polish style. This is the closest recipe I can find to Grandma's. If you are substituting tomato sauce rather than tomato soup or juice, you are doing yourself a dis-service. Stuffed cabbage is not meant to be drowned in tomato sauce. It is meant to be served in a thin juice. Also, the addition of the saurkraut like other reviewers suggested gives it a nice kick, which is what my grandmother always did. (You can even add a little into the meat/rice mixture for added flavor.) I use Minute Rice, with no problems--rice is never hard. Good recipe--true to Polish style rather than trying to turn stuffed cabbage into an Italian dish. We also sometimes make instant mashed potatoes on the side, and drizzle the thin juice over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENIO67
Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
one of the best meals i have ever perpared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was good. I did add some brown sugar, lemon juice, worstershire, garlice powder, onion powder and vinegar to the sauce. I used crushed tomato sauce. Cooked it on stovetop for 1/2 hr first. I layered the pan on the botton with extra leaves and also covered the rolls with extra cabbage. Covered the pan while cooking with foil. Baked at 350 for about 1 1/2 hrs. Be sure to add water to the pan to cover rolls. This adds more sauce and keeps the rolls moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I lost my moms recipe and hadn't made these in years. This recipe was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States