Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. Although next time I will increase cooking time a little. The cabbage still seemed a little "tough"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
needs more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was the first time I have made stuffed cabbage, and this recipe was good, but not great. It was good because it was pretty easy to follow. What would have made it MUCH better would be for it to call for seasoning the beef/rice mixture before putting it into the cabbage leaves. When I was finished, the stuffed cabbage was extremely under-seasoned, so I had to add a ton of salt and pepper to each cabbage package. Had I added that in with the beef, I don't think it would have turned out so bland. I also added a little hot sauce the the finished product, which spiced it up just enough. This recipe is really lacking in flavor and could benefit from some seasoning! The tomato didn't really come out in the finished product...maybe tomato paste would help? Also, I think it could have used more vinegar. I think that next time I will find another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were great - my whole family enjoyed them - just like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Good recipe,I added chopped fresh dill to the stuffing for more flavor. It tasted alot like my moms (Gulumpkies?) did. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Menio67 is absolutely correct. If you have to make changes, the one thing you don't want to touch is the tomato juice. It becomes something completely different if you use sauce, paste, etc. Personally I use onions but this recipe is easily close enough. Do yourself a big favor and stick to the recipe for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
After not having a lot of luck my one other time making stuffed cabbage (I don't remember why but I think it had something to do with not getting the leaves pliable enough) I am please to report that this recipe worked very well. I used a tablespoon of fresh garlic instead of the powder, and I used a 26 oz jar of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato juice, vinegar, and sugar because I didn't have tomato juice. What clinched it for me is that by coring and boiling the entire head of cabbage, I was able to get the leaves off in one piece, and then I left them in the water until pliable enough to roll easily. Next time, I will try the tomato juice - my husband and I both noted that the spaghetti sauce was not like we remembered our Mom's Glopskies (my family) or Glumpskies (his family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very tasty recipe. But please add some saesoning to it or else you will have a bland meal. I added chopped onions, salt and peper to the meatpart. And salt and pepper, and 1 garlic to the sauce. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Overall,stuffed cabbage is a great polish dish.However I use ground pork instead of beef,there is a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NusiaG.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristian
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made it with deer meat and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States