Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great dish. I would pass this on to friends. Thank You, Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Yum! First try at making stuffed cabbage...my Polish grandmother would make it all the time when I was a kid and I would never have any...it was 'too stinky'. Now, I decided that I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. I used crushed tomatos (1can) and 1/2 a jar of pasta sauce in place of tomato juice...but next time I'll try the juice...as that what grandma says she uses. Also I baked at 350 for a bit over an hour. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I gotta admit, I doctored this from the get go but the basic recipe was really good. I used turkey sausage and added a little bullion to the rice (1 cup uncooked) water. I also used V-8 juice, because that's all I had on hand. Used 2 tblsp vinegar. It was a huge hit. Really tasty and needed no other seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I took others suggestions and used a jar of basil, garlic marinara to top it. I also chopped fresh jalapeno and added it in the ground beef mixture. I baked it in a casserole dish at 375 for 60 minutes and served it with white rice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe I am one that has been buying the frozen dinner type and never tried to make it myself although I am I absolute chief in the kitchen. I didn't follow the recipe all the way made some changes but stayed with most. I added pork and sauted onions and garlic and lots of paparika I also put this concotion in the oven but I believe it would have been better simmering on the stove top. This is diffentially a keeper. This is a basic recipe and really works. My husband had four rolls to my two but we have more and it's what's for dinner tomorrow night or a quicky lunch tomorrow afternoon. Cabanara is next and is truly a favorite in my house. Thanks for such a easy meal cooking up into a deligous meal. I also used campbells Tomato Juice and one can of tomato sause on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I too used garlic (when I was boiling the leaves) and sprinkled the pieces in the leaves added the meat mixture. I put them in the oven with the sauce. Coved with foil and baked at 350. I also added some meatballs in sauce to the pan. I did not boil them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very similar to what I had growing up. My father was German and Croatian, my mother is Japanese. Dad taught mom to make these but because he wasn't a fan of tomatoes, he asked her to substitute with cream of mushroom soup. Just follow your usual recipe but instead of tomato sauce/juice, thin a can of cream of mushroom soup with milk or water, pour over the cabbage rolls and bake or use your slow cooker. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Easy hint for the cabbage and easier than freezing -- measure water in pot (enough to cover cabbage), remove cabbage, bring to a boil, drop in cabbage (carefully), return to a boil then turn off heat and set a timer for 15 minutes. At the end of that time the cabbage will be cooked through and the outer leaves won't be over-cooked. Dump hot water and refill with cold to make it easier to peel the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I love cabbage rolls and this recipe is great..I did make a few changes, I added more seasoning to the meat mixture and instead of tomatoe juice, I used tomato soup (mixed with water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I did love this. I remember eating this as a child. I needed to add a little Chalula to give it more flavour. My boyfriend wasn't impressed with this, so I have to give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States