Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made stuffed cabbage for the first time today using this recipe trying to imitate my grandma's stuffed cabbage. This was a good start, a little bland and I ended up adding a few more spices to the tomato juice. I then called grandma and she told me she uses tomato sauce instead tomato juice to add a little thickness and some extra flavor. Everything else is pretty much the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was good, but lacked a little flavor. Next time I will use my marinara sauce instead of tomato juice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I have made this several times, excellent every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I just served this to my new husband with a baked potato and he loved it. Excellent recipe... Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I also have never made stuffed cabbage before...It turned out good but my cabbage was a little tough and I think I should have added more tomato juice than water. My husband was very pleased with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was a good basic start for stuffed cabbages. Since it's apple harvest season now, I used 1 cup of fresh apple cider instead of the sugar, 1-1/2 TBS cider vinegar, and spiced up the meat mixture with fresh minced garlic, chopped onions, thyme, sage, and seasoned salt. Added 2 cups low sodium chicken broth to the tomato juice. A good time saver for the rice....we ordered takeout chinese dinner last night and ordered an extra qt of plain white rice for the cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I cook this last night. First i started it out on the stove top. Call it old school, all my famliy bake this dish. So in the oven it goes. I added more tomatoe jucie,a dash more salt in the meat. Alright,passed the man test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The sauce with this dish is way to thin and bland!!! Use canned tomatoes with their juice and do not add water or use just tomato juice. The filling is good but the garlic flavor gets swamped if too much liquid is used. ( I am a garlic lover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great dish. I would pass this on to friends. Thank You, Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Yum! First try at making stuffed cabbage...my Polish grandmother would make it all the time when I was a kid and I would never have any...it was 'too stinky'. Now, I decided that I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. I used crushed tomatos (1can) and 1/2 a jar of pasta sauce in place of tomato juice...but next time I'll try the juice...as that what grandma says she uses. Also I baked at 350 for a bit over an hour. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States