Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and my whole family really enjoys it. My Polish grandmother made stuffed cabbages but I only had a vague memory of the flavor. Recently, I had the opportunity to visit Warsaw and fell in love with the food all over again. This recipe is as close to grandma's as i can remember and much like what I had when I was in Poland. I would have given it a 5 but the sauce in the photo is a little misleading. To clarify for some of the commenters... 1. The sauce will not be thick like the picture unless you reduce it for about 10 min on med-hi after removing the rolls. It is not a necessary step unless you want thick sauce. 2. The meat is rolled uncooked...like a meatball inside a leaf of cabbage. 3. It is not supposed to taste garlicky... So don't over-do it with the garlic. It is not supposed to taste Italian. Polish food is warm and hearty, and the sauce is supposed to be mildly sweet. You should taste the parts equally... Meat /cabbage/tomato. 4. If you like your food salty... Add salt, it's as simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a great start but try this. Make your cabbage rolls any way you like, but cook them in a slow cooker. Layer some of the smaller leaves on the bottom to prevent burning. Make your sauce using a bottle of V8 juice, a large can of tomato soup, then a mixture of reg. Sugar and brown sugar. Make it as sweet as you want it. Pour a little of the sauce on the bottom then put in a layer of cabbage rolls. Put a layer of smoked sausage, which has been cut in thirds and sliced open lengthways, over the cabbage rolls. Sprinkle with a little saurkraut then continue layering until all cabbage rolls, sausage and whatever saurkraut is used up. Pour the sauce over all and cook on low for 6 to 8 hrs. I think you'll love the taste. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very easy. Very good. A bit blandish, but you would expect this from this kind of recipe. Hearty, good food. They all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Used my own tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
So good! I have to confess, though... I had no tomato juice, so I used a big ol' can of crushed tomatoes (NOT drained). And I cooked on the stove for 10 minutes then in the oven for an hour because I needed the stovetop for something else. Next time I'll be better prepared to follow this EASY and yummy recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Its a good starter recipe, We also green beans and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I think this recipe is excellent and authentic. Easy to prepare and cook. I add two spices from our family recipe that gives it an additional element of sweet and earthy: ground cloves and ground allspice berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
very good recipe, though I used napa cabbage because I like it better than the regular. Also aused fresh garlic and added half a chopped onion. I baked at 350, covered, in the oven for an hour. This recipe will definitely be in our dinner rotation. Very simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this recipe, used sphaghetti sauce instead of tomato juice, added salt and pepper to taste, and baked it at 350 for 1 hour. I also used "veggie crumbles" instead of ground beef as I am vegetarian. My family LOVED this, even my husband who was afraid of the word "cabbage." I am making it again this weekend for company.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
i lost my recipe for stuffed cabbage (it's here somewhere packed in moving boxes:) This is very close to mine as i remember, but i use tomato sauce and brown sugar (i think 2 Tbs), garlic, onion pwd,s&p. this is SO delicious, THANK YOU for posting!! ps...i also bake mine, which is easier for me. oh, and someone commented the inner leaves weren't cooked enough....just parboil the cabbage as stated, take it out of pot and remove the soft leaves, put the remaining back into the hot water while you're stuffing the larger leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States