Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was looking for a recipe similar to one my mother always made. (she passed away before I could get it and she never wrote it down). It was a sweet tasting cabbage roll with raisins. I chose this one because it sounded the closest to the one she made. I added raisins to the meat mixture, and also the liquid. I adjusted it a little by adding salt and pepper and also onions to the meat. Extra sugar and vinegar and used 16 ozs of the juice. It took alot longer then the 60 mins. Just keep checking it. It tastes close to what my mom made. Which made my children very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe but I tweeked it a bit. I had left over green and red bell peppers so I finely chopped a bit of them and added it to my beef mix. I added some salt and pepper. I lined the bottom of my pot with some of the cabbage that I didn't use for the rolls so they wouldn't stick. After the rolls were done cooking I pulled them out. I took the liquid which was a bit thin and all of the cabbage that lined the pot and tossed it into the blender with a tablespoon of flour to thicken it up. I put that mix back in the pan to reduce for a few minutes. When I've eaten this dish before the sauce is a little more sweet and tangy than mine came out. I'd add a bit more sugar and vinegar to get that tangy sauce I'm used to next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I boil my cabbage instead of putting it in the freezer; the freezer method makes the cabbage stringy instead of soft. I placed the stuffed cabbage in my slow cooker and left it in too long resulting in a very dry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent I used Quinoa and cream chease no meat was delicious family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeartCooking
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used lean ground pork and basmati rice instead of regular. The filling was extremely light and stayed together well. For the sauce, I added canned tomatoes and thickened with cornstarch slurry after I took out the rolls. Once it cooled a bit, I added 2% milk. (My pictures are the ones in the white bowls with flowers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Instead of beef we always used pork and the rice wasn`t cooked. We cover the rolls in tomato soup instead of juice.Cook on top of stove for aprox 1 hour.Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
awful-----just awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and my whole family really enjoys it. My Polish grandmother made stuffed cabbages but I only had a vague memory of the flavor. Recently, I had the opportunity to visit Warsaw and fell in love with the food all over again. This recipe is as close to grandma's as i can remember and much like what I had when I was in Poland. I would have given it a 5 but the sauce in the photo is a little misleading. To clarify for some of the commenters... 1. The sauce will not be thick like the picture unless you reduce it for about 10 min on med-hi after removing the rolls. It is not a necessary step unless you want thick sauce. 2. The meat is rolled uncooked...like a meatball inside a leaf of cabbage. 3. It is not supposed to taste garlicky... So don't over-do it with the garlic. It is not supposed to taste Italian. Polish food is warm and hearty, and the sauce is supposed to be mildly sweet. You should taste the parts equally... Meat /cabbage/tomato. 4. If you like your food salty... Add salt, it's as simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is a great start but try this. Make your cabbage rolls any way you like, but cook them in a slow cooker. Layer some of the smaller leaves on the bottom to prevent burning. Make your sauce using a bottle of V8 juice, a large can of tomato soup, then a mixture of reg. Sugar and brown sugar. Make it as sweet as you want it. Pour a little of the sauce on the bottom then put in a layer of cabbage rolls. Put a layer of smoked sausage, which has been cut in thirds and sliced open lengthways, over the cabbage rolls. Sprinkle with a little saurkraut then continue layering until all cabbage rolls, sausage and whatever saurkraut is used up. Pour the sauce over all and cook on low for 6 to 8 hrs. I think you'll love the taste. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very easy. Very good. A bit blandish, but you would expect this from this kind of recipe. Hearty, good food. They all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States