Stuffed Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was hesitant to try this recipe, because it seemed unusual. I decided to go ahead based on the other reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We loved it! The only changes I made are the following: (1) I added a small amount of finely chopped onion, and sauteed this with the garlic before adding the other veggies. (2) I shredded the carrots instead of julienning them (3) I added some small broccoli florets (4) I did not cover the squash with foil when I baked it (gets plenty soft) (5) I added some shredded cheese on top after stuffing, and re-baked at 350 for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
When I made this, my friend asked "since when did you learn to cook like this?" It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
So yummy! I added a cubed zucchini as well to the veg. mix. My family, who usually notice when I cook without meat, were over the moon about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I've made this a few times now, and we really like it. It's pretty easy (just takes some time to cook the squash). I use soy sauce instead of tamari. Next time, I will cube the squash instead of stuffing it- seems that it might be easier to eat that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a very easy, filling and nice vegetarian recipie. I added some chopped onion as other reviewers suggested, and sprinkled some grated romano cheese over the top before baking the casserole. It is very tasty and I would definitely make this recipie again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I try to cook for my vegetarian brother once in a while. He is pretty plane would describe him as the meat and potatoes kind of guy if he ate meat but even he enjoyed this meal and my mom and I loved it. I added some zucchini and feta cheese on top. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was so good! I used lentils with a bouillon cube instead of garbanzo beans and I added onions and 2x the garlic. The flavor of this dish was amazing! Maybe my squash was gigantic but this made 4 servings for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this. I've made with both brown rice and basmati, and like it both ways. It's so nice to find a healthy, vegan recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
OMG!! This is so good!!! I made some changes based on what I had on hand. Used coconut milk instead of soy, peas instead of the sprouts, and brown rice. Also used 2 cups frozen butternut squash, which I boiled separately, added some sauteed onion, and cooked it all as a casserole. With the coconut milk, you could sub curry powder for the turmeric, though it was great with the turmeric. Will definitely make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
soooo good! used brown rice, almond milk and peas instead of brussel sprouts because I didn't have any - but am excited to try them next time - doubled the tamari/milk sauce and added some cumin and cayenne with the turmeric. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States