Stuffed Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I converted this recipe to a casserole by chunking up the cooked squash and mixing it into the stuffing. We were taking it to a potluck and it just seemed like it would be easier to serve that way. I also subbed zuccini for the brussel sprouts, and used a cup of brown rice. Everyone really liked it, and my husband loved it! Considering how hard it is to get him to eat vegetables some days, that's quite an accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was hesitant to try this recipe, because it seemed unusual. I decided to go ahead based on the other reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We loved it! The only changes I made are the following: (1) I added a small amount of finely chopped onion, and sauteed this with the garlic before adding the other veggies. (2) I shredded the carrots instead of julienning them (3) I added some small broccoli florets (4) I did not cover the squash with foil when I baked it (gets plenty soft) (5) I added some shredded cheese on top after stuffing, and re-baked at 350 for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand (garbanzo beans, carrots, sprouts, soy milk, tamari, turmeric) so I modified it by just using brown rice, a cup of frozen green beans, regular milk, and soy sauce. It was sooo easy to make and turned out very tasty. A nice romantic meal if you serve with two forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a simple but flavorful recipe. I made a few changes though. I added a chicken bullion cube to the squash water. I used brown rice instead. Zucchini instead of brussels sprouts. Soy sauce instead of tamari. Curry instead of turmeric. I also added green pepper and green onion. My friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I thought this was awsome! I scooped out the cooked squash and mixed in with the rice mixture and served it back in the shell. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was a great fall-time seasonal recipe, especially for those living in the midwest as brussel's sprouts, winter squash and garlic are all being harvested. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy milk, and upped all the spices, two-fold. Lastly, I didn't want to deal with the messiness of the squash halves - I was in a hurry - so I peeled and cubed the squash, and baked everything together. Cubing increased surface area of the squash, decreasing the bake time, and made it easier to eat in my mind...a better mixing of the flavors. My partner topped his with parmeasan and I ate mine with plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
OMG!! This is so good!!! I made some changes based on what I had on hand. Used coconut milk instead of soy, peas instead of the sprouts, and brown rice. Also used 2 cups frozen butternut squash, which I boiled separately, added some sauteed onion, and cooked it all as a casserole. With the coconut milk, you could sub curry powder for the turmeric, though it was great with the turmeric. Will definitely make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
So yummy! I added a cubed zucchini as well to the veg. mix. My family, who usually notice when I cook without meat, were over the moon about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this. I've made with both brown rice and basmati, and like it both ways. It's so nice to find a healthy, vegan recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Very interesting recipe! I liked the combination of brussels, carrots and rice, and also the idea of the chickpeas (but not so sure about the taste of chickpeas in this). However, I just couldn't add all the turmeric. I thought about an 1/8 tsp. was plenty. Any other seasoning suggestions? Curry was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States