Stuffed Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The mixture of these 3 simple ingredients in the middle of a round or two of brie are absolutely fabulous together!! I strongly suggest to choose a very small RED onion though. (It ended up being 1 and 1/2 cups total chopped, or 3/4 cup per wheel) Also I also suggest you use portabella mushrooms as I did, and perhaps because of these tweaks I made I ended up needing one more tablespoon of butter. I caramelized the onions first, then added the mushrooms and dates and cooked them for an additional 3 minutes which is when I needed the extra tablespoon of butter. The quantity of filling was so huge (again, most likely from my tweaking the ingredients) that it was larger than the entire wheel of brie, so I decided to split 2 wheels of brie instead of just one in half (using a copper wire to cut them- so easy that way!) and it was the perfect amount for the two 8 ounce wheels of brie. I also chose to cook them in the oven rather than nuke them. 350 for 20 minutes. Thank you and I will use this again- especially for wine tasting parties or as a treat for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Everyone at my party loved this! Very easy. Watch cooking time though; my first attempt ended up as a puddle on the plate! (after less than a minute in the microwave) Served it anyway and people gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Man OH Man, is this a GREAT recipe!!! It is incredibly easy to make, and a huge hit with my loved ones. I will be serving it again this weekend for a wine tasting at my house. I absolutely recommend this recipe to you! You will not have leftovers. I recommend using a red onion instead of a regular white onion, as this really adds to the flavor as it caramelizes. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Over the past 3-4 years, this has become my signature dish for potluck dinners. My friends actually REQUEST that I bring it. The combination of sweet dates and savory onions/mushrooms is amazing! I agree with other reviewers that it often makes more than enough filling, but that just means I get to sample it while I'm putting it together. ;-) I have to respond to someone's suggestion to "cut the rind off the Brie before serving". Um, the rind is edible and a big part of Brie's appeal. Cutting it off not only is unnecessary and would make the wheel look very messy, but it also would reveal the cook's complete lack of knowledge about the dish. If you don't want a rind, use mozzarella--lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I served this twice over the holidays and everyone loved it! I served it with warm italian bread cut in chunks. Many people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I thought this was very good. The complex sweet/musky/tangy flavor is not something my kids enjoyed, but the adults who tried it at my gathering gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
More than 5 stars! Yummy. I bake it at 350 for ~20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I made this for a romantic dinner with my boyfriend (with Honey Garlic Ribs from this site for main course). It was really yummy! Went great with our red wine. My only suggestion would be to definitely slice off the rind (or whatever it's called) of the brie before assembling. I left it on, and we ended up having to eat around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
My father-in-law loves brie cheese and I made this as an appetizer for his birthday dinner. He loved it, as did his wife and my husband who are not big brie eaters. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is some seriously tasty stuff! It is easier to cut the brie when it is chilled so that should be done as soon as the cheese comes out of the fridge. I held the mushrooms out until the onions had started to caramelize. It took a while for them to start to brown. The dates were the last to go in after the mushrooms had started to soften. Watch this when you nuke it. It only took my microwave a minute to start to melt the brie. The combination of flavors in this is so tasty sweet, savory and an all around winner. Thanks for sharing I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States