Stuffed Breast of Veal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I had 2 small 1 1/2 lb breast cuts so I cut the quantity of ingredients to accommodate. I used a filet knife to cut the pockets deeply into the meat and stuffed them full. I increased the temp to 425 degrees because I was under pressure to get this done. After 2 1/2 hours covered I uncovered for an additional 25 minutes..DONE! Perfect! Rave reviews, even from my mother-in-law. Recognizing the normally fatty content of this cut of veal, I knew that 3 lbs would serve no more than 4 or 5...Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My dear mom, a first generation Slovak, made a similar version of this for Holy Saturday before Easter. She got the recipe from her mother who was a sensational chef. The recipe obviously has Slavic/Christian roots from Eastern Europe, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Extremely fatty - did not care for this recipe at all. No one would eat it. Very disappointing after waiting for this meal to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My mom always made this when we were growing up, but took the easy way out. She would use Pepperidge Farms Stuffing mix and make that. Also, she would layer the top of the meat with bacon. For those who are not Jewish, give it a try, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a recipe my mom made when I was a child. The stuffing is wonderful and can be used with chicken or turkey also. I did, however add sauteed spinach and roasted sunflower seeds to the stuffing mixture. Thank you for sharing this recipe and taking me back to a very happy time in my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
for those who mentioned bone it should have stated that the veal should have been boneless. I find the oven temp of 400deg for 3 1/2 hours too high. then another 1/2 hour !!! Reduce temp to 325 after 1/2 hour. you will get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love veal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
while the stuffing is very flavorful and good, i felt the seasoning on the veal itself was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It wasnt' the stuffing that was bad, it was the meat. Gargantuan bones, a thick layer of fat and a tiny bit of meat. I guess that's what you get when buying a bargain cut on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I used whole wheat bread instead of white, as I don't keep white bread on hand. I don't measure, so I'm usually a little heavy on the seasoning, but I followed the recipe. Only had to cook for 2 1/2 hrs then 30 min uncovered. Had a 4 lb with bone. Came out delicious. Meat was very tender. Stuffing was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States