Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very tasty, filling and healthy if you use brown rice and definitely farmer's market peppers! The recipe calls for 2 cups of tomato sauce, which is a bit much. I also prefer mixing the cheese into the sauce. It works well with Boca soy crumbles or I suppose you could substitute ground beef or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of vegetable protein - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
very good! i used brown rice and added garlic to sauteed veggies, added fresh corn, canned pinto beans and a fresh tomato from the garden and poured tomato soup on top. hubby loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Catawba, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I gave four stars b/c I did things different. All in all it was very good. I used red and yellow peppers (sweeter,prettier). I boiled the pepper halfs in water until tender,cooked the rice seperate. I sauted the oinion with a clove of garlic,1/4 tsp of cumin, thyme, oregano then added the tvp and salt and pepper. Stuffed the peppers w/cooked rice,topped with tvp mixture, topped with pasta sauce topped with shredded marble chedder cheese. Cooked until cheese was golden brown. This was the first time I used tvp and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pressurecook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was very good, easy to prepare with ingredients on hand. I made this recipe with home grown bell peppers and roma tomatos. I used vegan Chorizo in place of the textured vegetable protein as part of the rice ingredients. The Chorizo was well seasoned so extra seasoning in the rice was not necessary. Great idea for left over rice or bumper crop of bell peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pressurecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Woot! A vegetarian recipe! These were fabulous! I have not had stuffed peppers since I was a lil girl! Trip down mem lane. I added adobo seasoning mix and some chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
An instant classic at our house! Our variations have been brown rice and garlic for a starter. Cilantro, cumin,chili powder and some sort of Mexican cheese (asadero or queso fresca) for a Tex-Mex twist. Basil and spaghetti sauce and parmesean for Italian flavor. Our son HATES bell peppers but eats this like it's goin' outta style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
TVP is soy protein, available at most bulk food stores. I use it quite often as a substitute for hamburg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These were great. The second time I made them I added a little bit of mrs dash seasoning which added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this as did my daughter. I didn't add the TVP because I never heard of it. I may add a touch of cheyenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapuskasing, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States