Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Did NOT use vegetable protein...instead used ground turkey. Added some turmeric, cajun seasoning and saracha sauce to the filling. I also had used three large peppers and ended up needing the same amount of filling ingredients. Overall, good recipe...just add meat if you're not a fan of or have no idea what textured vegetable protein is. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the most bland recipe - ever. To fix this I added a can of diced tomatoes seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. I also added extra Italian seasoning, some garlic, onion powder, celery, crushed red pepper flakes, and used real beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I tweaked the recipe by using a product that I recently discovered. It's a "Ground Sausage Style" vegetable protein. Using this sausage alternative, it almost rivaled my mom's recipe I remember eating when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Really DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. Since I didn't have any textured vegetable protein I used ground pork sausage because it has a nice spicy flavor and I thought it would go well with this recipe. It was so delicious, easy, and filling. I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Made this recipe with Gimme Lean sausage and added mushrooms as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
We made this following the recipe and it was terrible. We're not vegetarian, but I don't think even ground beef would have fixed this recipe. I actually ended up stuffing the last stuffed pepper down the disposal. What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Favorite! Added Ground Turkey in place of Vegetable protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
textured vegetable protien (TVP) is a nice way to say "soy meal" it i sold in higher end and natural foods grocers. TVP is a substitute for ground meat. TVP has a meat-like texture and absorbs liquid and flavor from what it is cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
this is great i mixed in taco/chilli seasoning into my protein veg & cooked it with sweet yellow onion, mushrooms, and minced fresh garlic. Instead of parsley I used cillantro. I stuffed the peppers & covered them with shredded cheese - then placed them in a plan with a simple garlic spaghetti sauce. It came out awesome! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States