Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
We substituted lean ground beef for the textured vegetable protein and used about 3 cups of tomato sauce. We like it saucy. ??. Otherwise delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Used some other reviewers suggestions such as using a can of beans for protein and 1/4 tsp. of cumin and garlic sautéed with the onion. I will try with some more spices next time. I used a wild rice blend. I was quite hungry and thought the peppers looked pretty cooked at 22 min. so I put some cheese (soy cheese for hubby and I) on, turned the oven off and let it set in the warm oven for several minutes. The peppers turned out to be a bit crispy still which didn't bother me, but I'm guessing they could've used some more cook time. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was pretty good. It was the first time I tried these and am pleasantly impressed. I added about half an ounce of red wine vinegar and a sliver of jalapeno to give it some edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was excellent, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons Italian sausage seasoning (available at a spice shop) when I added the TVP and omitted the parsley used an organic basmati whole grain rice, and everyone loved the flavor of the dish, this is definitely one to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Textured vegetable protein is a vegetarian substitute for ground beef made from soy. You can find it in the vegetarian section of the refrigerated food aisle it tastes good, or you can just use ground beef I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I found Textured Vegetable Protien (Bob's Red Mill brand) at the bake goods section in my grocery store First time cooking with TVP, Forgot to rehydrate the stuff before putting in preparation big mistake! Turn out very dry with no flavor. Would try again the right way hoping it will would taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Relatively tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Even my carnivore husband loves this recipe. For those asking about TVP, it's called "crumbles" by both Boca (c) and Morningstar Farms (c). I've been switching out ground beef for TVP for a while, and it was nice to see a recipe already using it. I used brown rice instead of white and sometimes I use my own marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very Good! I used quinua and prego basil and garlic pasta sauce. I also recommend putting cheese in with the rice ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was a delicious vegetarian stuffed pepper recipe! I used all of the ingredients except the textured vegetable protein because I couldn't find it in the grocery store; instead, I used stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States