Stuffed Bell Peppers, Greek Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made this tonight with Tabbouleh II & Greek tzaziki sauce from AR. Really delicious! I nice change from stuffed pappers with italian seasonings. I never had tried lamb before, and at 7 something per pound, I won't be dining on lamb every night, but I must say I'm glad to have tried it. Subtle, juicy, and definitely better than ground beef, I might say even better than the organic beef we buy from a local guy. I did cook the meat/onion mix with a cinnamon stick, and it certainly did no harm. Added feta too, because really, when is cheese a bad addition to a dish? DH gobbled it up, so did I with lots of left-overs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good, just make sure you cook the rice till it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Thank you for such a great recipe... This has become one of our family's staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
combined with the tips from others, it's not bad. suggested alterations: -cinnamon and whole cloves in the meat mixture -mix in herbed, crumbled feta after meat is done, prior to stuffing -omit the rice; cook separately THEN mix after meat mix is done. -parboil the peppers(!) all of these options either increase the flavor, and/or shorten the cooking time. do it! tastes good, short cooking time, light flavor but sits like a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Made these for dinner tonight. Ever since I discovered this recipe on here, I've had a craving for it. Actually, it was a toss-up between this recipe and Tina's Greek stuffed peppers recipe. I hate to say, I wish I would have tried Tina's peppers instead, but I was lazy and thought they were too much work compared to Jeanne's recipe. I guess that's what I get for taking the "easy" route lol! While these weren't "terrible," there is enough I don't like about them to warrant my mediocre review. For one, the filling is VERY dry (I even added half a container of herbed feta to it). My liquid absorbed in half the amount of time suggested (i.e. ~ 8 minutes), but ironically, my rice was still a tad crunchy (?). And the sauce... well, it isn't a sauce at all! I was wondering how chicken broth and tomatoes would reduce to a thickened sauce, but threw all intuition out the window and forged ahead anyways. That was a bad idea.... I'm sad to say, I will not be sending my fiance to work with leftovers (since this yields 6 peppers, I wanted to give my future in-law's the 4 that were left). Oh well! Maybe this will be to your liking, but it wasn't to ours. Thanks anyways, Ms. Gold. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I've made this twice now (once with beef and once with lamb). From reading the comment section I knew to add a cinnamon stick to the meat when it was cooking and I added fresh mint. Right before I stuffed the peppers, I stirred feta cheese into the rice and meat mixture. I served the peppers with tabouleh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
dee-lish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used ground beef rather than lamb. I should have doubled the mint and used feta cheese. I also had Greek cucumber sauce. My husband loved it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was wonderful and easy! I too had to use ground beef... couldn't find lamb. I doubled the mint and used green,orange,and yellow bell peppers. I also topped the peppers with 8oz reduced fat Feta cheese for the last 15 minutes in the oven. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very very nice! I did use ground chuck because it's hard to get lamb around here. I used both green and red bell peppers to try because usually I only like red bell peppers but this recipe really works best with green bell peppers. But other than that, I didn't change a thing. I served it with a greek cucumber/parsley yogurt sauce which I happened to have in the fridge and it went very well with this dish. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States