Stuffed Bell Peppers, Greek Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My family loved it. I substituted the lamb, for ground beef, because that was all I had. And I added fresh mint, which just make it come alive! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very very nice! I did use ground chuck because it's hard to get lamb around here. I used both green and red bell peppers to try because usually I only like red bell peppers but this recipe really works best with green bell peppers. But other than that, I didn't change a thing. I served it with a greek cucumber/parsley yogurt sauce which I happened to have in the fridge and it went very well with this dish. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
dee-lish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Thank you for such a great recipe... This has become one of our family's staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good, just make sure you cook the rice till it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made this tonight with Tabbouleh II & Greek tzaziki sauce from AR. Really delicious! I nice change from stuffed pappers with italian seasonings. I never had tried lamb before, and at 7 something per pound, I won't be dining on lamb every night, but I must say I'm glad to have tried it. Subtle, juicy, and definitely better than ground beef, I might say even better than the organic beef we buy from a local guy. I did cook the meat/onion mix with a cinnamon stick, and it certainly did no harm. Added feta too, because really, when is cheese a bad addition to a dish? DH gobbled it up, so did I with lots of left-overs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Being married to a greek from Greece for many years, I will tell you exactly what is missing from this recipe. When you are cooking the meat sauce, place a small cinnamon stick (not cinnamon powder)into the sauce. Allow the sauce to cook for a good 45 minutes, absorbing the wonderful-ness of the cinnamon. You can even add a few whole cloves. This addition applies to anything you are cooking with hamburger meat, example - spaghetti sauce, lasagna meat, stuffed zuccini, moussaka meat, etc. The taste you are trying to get comes from these spices. I guarantee it. Opah, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was wonderful and easy! I too had to use ground beef... couldn't find lamb. I doubled the mint and used green,orange,and yellow bell peppers. I also topped the peppers with 8oz reduced fat Feta cheese for the last 15 minutes in the oven. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I've made this twice now (once with beef and once with lamb). From reading the comment section I knew to add a cinnamon stick to the meat when it was cooking and I added fresh mint. Right before I stuffed the peppers, I stirred feta cheese into the rice and meat mixture. I served the peppers with tabouleh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Read the recipe and a bunch of reviews. I started with ground lamb and onions. The browning went well, so I looked for my jar of cinnamon sticks--OH NO--ran out of sticks, so I couldn't try the cinnamon suggestion. Looked for my mint and all I could find was a bag of TAZO mint tea. It contained dried spearmint, peppermint and tarragon. OK, worth trying. I cut open the bag and used about 1 tsp. of the dried tea. Sure smelled good sprinkling on top of the lamb/rice mixture! After 15 minutes the rice was a little gritty, so I added another 1/2 cup of water and simmered another 15. The rice softened much better. I halved and gutted 3 green peppers but only had enough meat mixture to fill 5 halves. No problem; I saved the extra half for another cooking adventure. I didn't have chicken stock or broth but I did have a can of CAMPBELL'S Tomato Bisque. I whisked the condensed soup with 1/2 can of water and used that instead of the broth/diced tomatoes. Was I a ??????? for deviating? Only time will tell. Loaded everything in the crockpot because in Phoenix we don't use ovens between May and October. Set for High for 2 hours and the meal came out yummy (without the feta cheese because I'm more of a fontina lover)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States