Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was just ok. In reading other reviews I did use olive oil and italian breadcrumbs. Definitely needed more garlic. Will take the advice of others by blanching first and baking covered in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Yummmmm! These artichokes remind me of the ones my Nana used to make. I tried many years ago to make them, but decided they were too time consuming. I have more time now and these are really so worth making. I followed the recipe except I used olive oil & didn't really measure it and I drizzled probably a little extra over the tops of the stuffed chokes before steaming. Also had to substitute dried parsley for fresh with no bad results there. Try them, I think you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was a lot of work for not a lot of flavor. It was decent, but simultaneously disappointing after all the prep and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good. Artichokes are a staple of my childhood. In my version of this recipe, I add about a cup of white wine to the water, no oil in the water, and let it boil rigorously (to evaporate the alcohol) before placing a lid and simmering for 45 minutes. The wine perfumes the artichokes and adds a nice hint of flavoring. I also add minced prosciutto to my breadcrumbs, delicious! You really can't go wrong with a little extra garlic and a finishing touch of garlic butter on the side...or drizzled on top, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I haven't seen any mention of the thick stems that are on the artichokes. I look for the longest stems and I peel away the outer skin and then chop them up and mix them in the bread crumb and cheese mixture. What a treat! They get just as tender.Also I apply chopped garlic as well.Been making them for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Loved it! the only thing I did different was I used Canoil oil instead. Before I studded the artichoke, I rubbed the outside with oil, I feel it helpd hold the flavor in. I also continously added water and oil to the pot to help steam. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
really good--like others I used way more garlic than recommended and olive oil instead of veg oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These were soooo good although, I must delegate at least 2 of these stars to the other reviewers. I followed another users advice and boiled the artichokes for about 20 minutes so that I could scraped out the prickleys and the hairs. For the stuffing I substituded the italian bread crumbs for the cubed bread, much easier. Extra virgin olive oil trumps vegetable oil. Also, I added chopped pine nuts and basil. Then I stuffed and baked them in pan with about an 1 1/2 of water. Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We made these last night and they were great! Only thing we did differently is to squeeze 1/2 of a lemon after cleaning and snipping the tips. We'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great recipe. I used seasoned bread crumbs in lieu of the bread and parsley. Great, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States