Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wonderful!! We have made these for years. We always use Italian bread crumbs in place of the bread, and add a bit more garlic. If you like strongly flavored food, you can always add more seasonings to suit your taste. We just made these this morning to munch while we wait for our Thanksgiving turkey. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
AWESOME!!! came out soooo fantastic. I wasn't sure about putting that much water in the pot but I think that was the key. It was so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have made this dish for my wife twice now. She has said that she loved immensly. The only thing that I changed was I used Italian bread crumbs instead of bread cubes and I increased the garlic to 3 cloves for that real Italian zest. I will continue to make this dish. Next time will be at a dinner party Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papatragale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Best recipe I've tried for artichokes so far. Used Italian bread crumbs instead of bread. Perhaps a bit more garlic and I'd love to be able to try baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
these were good, i made some changes in cooking method as i wanted to make Giada De Laurentiis's Gorgonzola Stuffed Artichokes but didnt have gorgonzola...so i used her make-ahead bake method (Trim artichokes, remove center leaves ~not the heart~ boil in lemon water 30mins, drain upside down & cool, when ready to bake: stuff it, then bake 25mins @ 400). I used the stuffing from this recipe, substituting italian bread crumbs for the slice of italian bread. we liked it but next time we are going to do giada's with the extra gooey cheese in the hollowed centers. the stuffing for this one was kinda dry and bland, but an excellent starting point for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
family raved about this, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for stuffed artichokes ("i carciofi ripieni") - a classic Italian dish whose proper preparation can at times be frustrating. An artichoke is the bud of a member of the thistle family. Tn the USA, global artichokes cultivated in California are those most frequently available . The really successful end result of a cooked, stuffed artichoke should provide leaves that are coated with almost homogeneously melted or amalgamated stuffing. However, all too often the end result may be disappointing. Although the heart of an artichoke is almost always delicious, the quality/ tenderness of the leaves may be otherwise. The ultimate success of any artichoke recipe (stuffed or non-stuffed)is absolutely dependent on the quality of the artichoke itself. Globe artichokes from California are available year round. However, I limit my guarded purchases to the peak season - from March through May. I seek fist-sized (no larger) artichokes that are deep green - not brown, are heavy for their size, and have a tight leaf formation. The globe should squeak when the leaves are pressed together. Lack of satisfaction with your preparation of stuffed artichokes, does not mean that you cannot enjoy artichokes - there are non-stuffed artichoke recipes that are simpler to prepare. Remember to include the trimmed stems in the recipe. When cooked, they will be as delicious as the artichoke heart itself - the cynosure of all artichoke lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I followed another reviewers suggestion and boiled before I put them in the oven and the came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Marie M.
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Just like the ones my nana made while I was little. I made my own bread crumbs from some day old. That's all it takes to make it off the hook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was not allot of work, pretty easy. I did use olive oil instead. Maybe I did something wrong, but the bread was so soggy after cooking. The concept of using Italian bread is allot better then using bread crumbs that are too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States