Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I did not like these. It's not that they were bad they just were not good:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
this recipe is excellent. It is how my great grandparents used to make them with just a couple alterations to make it easier for the cook and just as delisious. First, instead of using cubes of bread, use Italian style bread crumbs so then the seasonings of parsley and oregano are already in the bread crumbs so you don't have to add them. Second, slice the garlic very thin instead of mincing. The slices, if sliced thin enough melt into the artichoke as it steams. Third, use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and just drizzle slowly over the stuffed artichoke after stuffing. Fourth, use a mixture of parmesean and romano cheese to sprinkle over the top after the olive oil drizzle. This makes a wonderful kind of crust over the entire artichoke that is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Thought the stuffing recipe looked simple & delicious (AND IT WAS) but i made several key changes (1) I used 1/2 breadcrumbe / 1/2 bread (2) I used whole grain bread, (3) I used oil oil and more of it and (4) I partially pre-cooked the artichokes by boiling in water for 20 min. Then I cooked in the ove with water in the bottom of the tray for 20 minutes. Came out great and I think healthier since I used grain bread and olive oil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Awesome! My Italian family has made these for years. I just use 1 cup Italian bread crumbs, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, and one clove of garlic. Add Olive oil, not vegetable oil. Fill Oven safe pot with lid 2 inches high with water. Bake 1 hour, check at 30min to make sure there is enough water in the bottom of the pot. If needed, add a little water. Bake 1 1/2 hour til leaves pull easily out of artichoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Make these all the time, this Artichoke recipe was excellent. Followed the recipe as written except added garlic powder and a little garlic salt. Made it in a pressure cooker which took 15 minutes depending on the size of the chokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I steam them in chicken broth much more flavor I have made these for years, the chicken broth makes this recipie rock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very good recipe and as good if not better than what I've had in restaurants. I modified the recipe by using Italian seasoned panko breadcrumbs and also incorporated the reserved stems, finely chopped. Prior to cooking, I trimmed the artichokes leaves/stems. Next, I used a previous reviewers suggestion by steaming them for 30 minutes, then removed the inedible part of the choke, stuffed them and baked them in 1 inch of water in a 450 oven, covered for 30 minutes, removed the cover and baked for another 10 minutes. Delicious. Nice variations suggested by others include adding pine nuts and/or proscuitto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Here's_What's_Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
They were ok. I loved the stuffing. But I think I'll just stick to dipping in some butter. Fun to try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious!! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States