Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Soggy breadcrumbs on meatless leaves. I followed the recipe and the suggestions to blanche 20 mins/then bake. Perhaps I didnt pick good artichokes, but there was no meat to be heard of and no artichoke hearts in sight, but nevertheless the breadcrumbs were soggy and the artichoke came apart despite using the blanche/bake method. I doubt steaming alone would have made it any crispier tastier. I guess artichokes are just not my thing unless they are the canned/marinated variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I have been eating these since I was a kid! Tip** only put about an 1" - 1 1/2" of water in the bottom of the pot. Cover and Steam, check frequently and add small amounts of water as it evaporates. If you have a hot water bath canning pot with the rack in the bottom, use that, it will help the chokes stand and not fall over and get soggy. You can also use Italian bread crumbs in place of the sliced bread. While prepping the filling, place cleaned artichokes in a big pot with cold water and juice of one lemon, this will prolong the choke from turning color. As soon as you start to clean the choke, it will start to turn brown, so the lemon helps with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Artichokes weren't originally on tonight's menu, but the supermarket had beautiful large fresh artichokes with 10" stems, so I had to try this recipe! Thanks to the other reviewers for their suggestions. I made similar changes: Italian breadcrumbs + panko, olive oil, and more garlic. I steamed the artichokes for 20 minutes along with the peeled stems. Let cool, then removed the choke. Chopped the steamed stems and added to the stuffing. Sat the stuffed artichokes in 1" of water to which I added some chopped garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil. Into the oven at 450, covered, for 20 minutes then 10 minutes with the lid off. PERFECT, didn't even need any butter for dipping. (Artichokes are very high in anti-oxidents....as if I need any further justification!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is delicious, especially if you add pine nuts like another reviewer suggested. I used cubed sourdough baguette though bread crumbs would a lot easier to stuff between the leaves. Added oregano and used parmesan cheese instead. I had large artichokes so I had to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
First time cooking artichokes and this came wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base and took other review suggestions to complete it. I used Italian bread crumbs and nearly tripled the ingredients. I also boiled the artichokes for 20 min and scooped out the center before stuffing them. I topped them with more Parmesan cheese. They did turn out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is recipe is the same as my Sicilian grandmother's. BUT we scoop out the choke before we stuff it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mad River, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is my second time trying a "stuffed artichoke" recipe and neither has turned out very good - so I think I'll stick to steaming them in the future. =( I've been making artichokes for years and never knew you could rap them on a hard surface to get them to open up (so thanks for this wonderful tip!!) I followed the recipe exactly and while the 'stuffing' was tasty, my artichokes (which started out nicely wedged in the pot) seemed to shrink as they cooked, ultimately tipping over in the water and making a soggy mess of my stuffing. I also cooked them for an hour and they were tough ... Guess I did something wrong - but they certainly didn't turn out like I expected. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I enjoyed this I put them in the steamer and steamed them for 60 minutes - they came out really good! (no oil - just used water but put 2 tbsp in the stuffing a recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States