Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is an awesome squash recipe. Usually I make soup or something else, but this was delicious! This was the entire meal, and filling as well as amazing! I left out the onion powder and went light on the garlic powder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Duncan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious, and a wonderful way to do something different with squash! I gave it four stars instead of five because I do think the recipe needs a little altering. I followed a lot of the suggestions from the reviews. I prepared the stuffing ahead of time (used Stove Top's Savory Herbs mix) and also added about 2/3 of a tube of cooked and crumbled Jimmy Dean sausage to the stuffing. That was more than enough for two whole squashes. Next time I think I will melt down the butter and sugar ahead of time, too, and mix that with the stuffing. All the butter and sugar just spilled out of the squash and couldn't be enjoyed with the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Made as is written. Too much stuffing called for the acorn squash (enough for two squashes) so it was a bit of a waste, but other than that, the recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I mixed the stuffing mix w/ chicken broth, frozen chopped spinach, mushrooms, and cooked & seasoned turkey sausage. The squash was tasty, but needed to be cooked extra time in order to get the squash tender enough. I will make this again, but will microwave the squash for a bit before stuffing them and putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stilltrusting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I do not like any squash, baked, cooked, steamed. Fried is pretty good. This is the best squash I have ever eaten and on this site there is a Baked Squash II that I can not wait to try. If it is anything like the first, I'll be eating at least one of these at least once a week. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Soooo good! And so easy! I put half of the butter and brown sugar in the bottom of the squash halves, filled it with the stuffing mix, onion and garlic powder, and added a little cayenne. Then I topped with the remaining half of the butter and brown sugar. I baked it for 45 min covered and the last 15 min uncovered. It got a little crisp on top and it was wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Easy recipe. I'm just not a big fan of this type of squash. It is too stringy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is delicious! Like everyone else suggests, I mixed the ingredients first before stuffing the squash halves (I melted the butter first too.) One reviewer left out the brown sugar because she was worried that it wouldn't go with the savory seasoning in the stuffing mix...I don't know how it works, but the brown sugar makes it soooo good. As gross as it may sound, I was scraping the bowl of stuffing mix and licking the spatula after I filled the squash and put it in the oven. Instead of individually wrapping the squash halves in foil, I placed them in a shallow pie pan and covered the whole thing with foil. I liked the brown sugar flavor so much, I think next time I might sprinkle a little on top after baking and put them back under the broiler for a minute to get crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very good! I added sausage and used cornbread stuffing with sauteed onions and celery. I went light on the brown sugar and we ended up adding more as we ate because it was a nice balance to the savory sausage. Will absolutely make again, even for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was a good change from the usual butter/brown sugar. But it didn't "wow" me. It was filling, but lacked flavor. It might work if you mess w/ the recipe a little, but I don't think I'll put in the effort on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States