Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made this recipe on Thanksgiving and followed it exactly as written, except melted the butter and mixed all ingredients together and filled the squash halves. Used three small squash (6 halves) and had the perfect amount of filling. Lined them in a foil pan with a little water and covered the whole pan with foil as one reviewer suggested, and left the foil off for the last 15 minutes. Easy recipe and nice presentation. Would definitely make again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Just fixed this for supper tonight. My daughter, who as I was fixing it, proclaimed "I don't like squash" wound up "eating" her words. Now she wants me to make it a regular meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ok, I admit, I cheated big time with this but the end result was so good anyway! We feel that acorn squash is pretty sweet on it's own so I skipped the brown sugar. Here's where the cheating part comes in. I simply cooked the two halves of squash in the microwave, made Stove Top stuffing, added in some browned sausage to make it more of a complete meal, stuffed the squash and placed it in the oven for twenty minutes. Delicious Weavre and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I wasn't sure what to rate this because I really didn't follow the recipe very well! I used homemade stuffing + added Italian sausage and really enjoyed it. I softened some celery and onion, mixed in some small bread cubes and chicken stock, along with the spices mentioned in the original recipe and the brown sugar and butter in the bottom of the squash. It was a great autumn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent! My Both my husband and I liked this recipe. My squash must have been smaller than those called for in the recipe, because I had much more stuffing than I could use. Next time, I'll be sure to spread the brown sugar throughout the cavity of the squash. And it helped to mix the broth and stuffing mix together before putting it in the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was exceptional. Savory and sweet all at the same time and still works well. The ingredients it calls for seemed to be a tad too much but maybe we had small acorn squash? Either way, I made it work and it was good. Filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
We loved this - I did microwave the squash for 4 - 5 mins. before filling it - then I threw a bunch of seasonings into some cooked turkey burger to make it taste like sausage - sauteed some onion and garlic - poured some of the br. sugar/butter over top everything before putting it in the oven. Will be delighted to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was great! I added a 1/2 lb of sausage to the stuffing. I mixed the stuffing, chicken broth and seasonings all together and then stuffed the acorn shells. I topped the squash with Parmesan cheese the last 5 minutes of cooking. I had enough stuffing to stuff 2 whole acorns. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! Great warm, Autumn comfort food. I sauteed some celery and an onion and then added some diced apples and added that to the stuffing and it was delicious. I also cut back on the butter (only used about 1 tablespoon) and it was fine! I mixed the stuffing beforehand as well as many others mentioned. Yummy! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I didn't have chicken broth so I used homeade vegeable broth. I also scored the squash as another reviewer suggested and rubbed the inside of the squash with a bit of brown sugar (my family has a sweet tooth). Also taking another reviewer's suggestions, I mised all the ingredients in a bowl (sugar and the butter that I melted) and then put it in the squash. I didn't have the garlic powder (we go through it a lot and I just happened to be out) and forgot about the onion powder. It was great without these things. Thanks so much for this recipe. It will be used again and again. Oh and I was cooking a brisket and had to hold these in the oven for about 80 minutes and they were fall apart tender. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States