Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used Stove Top Stuffing for my stuffing. To the stuffing I added hot chicken sausage, fresh onion & celery. Instead of adding butter and sugar to the stuffing, I sprayed the squash with cooking spray and very lightly sprinkled a little brown sugar on the squash itself then filled it with the stuffing. Baked it for 45 minutes in the foil then an additional 20 so the stuffing had a chance to brown nicely. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I sautéd celery and onions and mixed the stuffing before putting them in the oven. I only put a tiny bit of brown sugar in the bottom. I also unwrapped the foil 30 minutes in so the stuffing would be a little crunchy on top. Everyone loved them. Thank you for sharing this nummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellainsect

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was sooo good. I did make some changes. I added chopped onions, mushrooms, and as I wanted this as a main course, a can of chicken. I used stove top for the stuffing. I did have to cut up two squash as my acorn squash were very little. I also put the butter and brown sugar in the squash, then mixed up the rest and then added that to the top. (of course, since the squash were little I separated the butter and sugar by fours.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Benton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It was a different twist on the basic butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I did mine using butter, garlic, mushrooms & diced potatoes. My family loved it and they want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was a very easy recipe! I added in onions, water chestnuts, celery, feta cheese and chicken! They turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great receipe. I added sauteed carrots, onion, celery, and cooked italian turkey sausage to the stuffing. I used an ice cream scooper to hone out the inside of the squash. I noticed a lot of raters did not include the butter and brown sugar beneath the stuffing mixture, but I did and it gave the squash an excellent flavor. (I pierced the inside of the squash numerous times with a fork so the butter / brown sugar mixture could permeate the flesh.) It took a little more than 2 hours for the squash to cook sufficiently, but it was definitely worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke Decker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Nice savory option for squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Was pretty good. I tried cheating a bit and didn't quite get the squash cooked all the way. I just used stove top and cooked that. Added the butter, brown sugar and some raisins. This is my thanksgiving dinner since I do not eat meat. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Tasty and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States