Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Thankfully (and as always) I read the comments and followed many suggestions. I sautéed garlic, onion, diced kale, and veggie sausage. I mixed the box of stuffing with all the chicken broth then added the sautéed ingredients. Instead of butter I drizzled EVOO on the squash and skipped the brown sugar. I then added mixed ingredients to the acorn squash. I did follow suit and take off the foil mid-way through baking and it tuned out perfectly. Will DEF make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Husband and I liked it. Daughters liked the stuffing, but they really don't like squash... I took other reviewers suggestions and mixed all of the stuffing ingredients along with the (melted) butter and brown sugar together then divided it among the 4 squash halves. I also added a pound of ground beef (seasoned like sausage...) and I did not have too much stuffing mix. Perfect amount! My girls requested I make this again, just omit the squash....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olive
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I think this was too salty. I used the cranberry stuffing from whole foods and followed that recipe, which calls for 6 tblsp of butter then I added butter to the squash. Way to salty. Next time I'll omit so much butter. (My squashes weren't cut symmetric so I had to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa carter
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Delicious! I added a bit of sharp white cheddar and removed the foil for the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Like most I added sausage. I took out the brown sugar. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as close as I could (less butter/stuffing/broth to make room for the sausage). We LOVED it! I'm not really fond of sweeter vegetables like acorn squash, but this adds an awesome savory spin. Will definitely be making this again if I find another nice acorn squash at the farm stand. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it. Very easy. My 3 and 6 year olds helped me make them. Everyone enjoyed this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
there is not nearly enough room in each half to put the amount of butter, dry surfing mix AND chicken broth. then when you wrap it in foil it just steams so you end up with mushy bread in a soggy acorn squash...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I cut back on the brown sugar and this was a HUGE mistake. Delicious but needed the sweetness with the savory for best results. Will make this again with enough brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was very good! I used Stovetop stuffing and omitted the butter and brown sugar to save calories. A whole box of Stovetop filled 4 acorn squash halves. Next time I may jazz up the stuffing mix with copped onions and some kind of nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
There wasn't room in the oven, so we just microwaved it 20 minutes (pre-cooking the squash a few minutes first) and let it brown in the oven for 10! Super easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States