Stuffed Acorn Squash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DianeV
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
With my alterations I give this recipe 5 stars for its tasty, earthy, comfort food appeal! I cooked 1 cup of white long grain rice with 2 cups of chicken broth in a separate pan so I could add it to my ground beef mixture. I did not have pork sausage, but I'm sure it would be wonderful in this dish. I also added onions, celery, dried sage, 2 cloves of garlic, and rosemary to the meat for a savory taste. Once the squash was cooked, I spooned the rice and meat mixture into the wells, then topped each with some grated colby jack cheese. It turned out beautifully and was very tasty. My husband, who doesn't even like acorn squash, ate two servings! See my photo of this lovely autumn dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
the squash is bitter, but add a teaspoon of brown sugar to the bottom before you add your sausage to it. It will make all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I really liked this. I tweaked it a little to suit my caloric preferences. Ground turkey instead of pork/beef. Eliminated the oil, not necessary for the meat or squash. Diced tomato instead of cheese. Also, I dont have a microwave, so I baked the squash @ 375 for 40 minutes, then another 20 with the stuffing. A great, healthy, delicous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This has soooo many possibilities! Very good as is...filling and comforting. I have made a list of other things to add next time...stuffing, corn, sun-dried tomatoes, olives.....somebody stop me! Will make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I found the basic recipe on the bland side. I might have used the rong sausage. The there are several seasoning posibilityto try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I just used sausage, no hamburger. I also added mushrooms to the onion mixture. Hubby said he could eat it every night - LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is my favorite Autumn recipe and I've been making it for years! The flavors are excellent together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Enjoyed the savory take on the acorn squash. Didn't have sausage on hand, but spiced up some ground pork with sage, a little cayenne, and salt and pepper. Imagine the filling would have been even better with pre-made sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I'm surprised so many people liked this recipe. I do a lot of cooking and I've got to say that these tastes just did not go together. Although the filling was good on it's own, the sweetness of the squash tasted awful with the spices and cheese. My boyfriend couldn't even finish it, and that's saying something. Sorry, I've got to give this a thumbs-down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very tasty! Its nice to find a good recipe that isn't a sweet one. I didn't have pork or ground beef, I used ground turkey. Next time I will be sure to have the pork on hand, I think it would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States