Stuffed Acorn Squash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
so good! took advice from the previously posted comments and tweaked the recipe just a bit. used ground chicken, onions, garlic, rosemary, nutmeg, and cumin for flavor. added brown sugar to the base of the squash. DELICIOUS. both my mom and dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
It needed more cheese than what it called for but my picky husband requested it for the 2nd time this month! I used ground pork instead of sausage for less fat and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I added a can of mushroom soup, some white and wild rice, and celery. On a cold night this is comfort food at it's best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I use veggie beef and it's good. Not the most exciting thing you can do with an acorn squash, but decent and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I really liked this. I tweaked it a little to suit my caloric preferences. Ground turkey instead of pork/beef. Eliminated the oil, not necessary for the meat or squash. Diced tomato instead of cheese. Also, I dont have a microwave, so I baked the squash @ 375 for 40 minutes, then another 20 with the stuffing. A great, healthy, delicous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianeV
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
With my alterations I give this recipe 5 stars for its tasty, earthy, comfort food appeal! I cooked 1 cup of white long grain rice with 2 cups of chicken broth in a separate pan so I could add it to my ground beef mixture. I did not have pork sausage, but I'm sure it would be wonderful in this dish. I also added onions, celery, dried sage, 2 cloves of garlic, and rosemary to the meat for a savory taste. Once the squash was cooked, I spooned the rice and meat mixture into the wells, then topped each with some grated colby jack cheese. It turned out beautifully and was very tasty. My husband, who doesn't even like acorn squash, ate two servings! See my photo of this lovely autumn dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
A delicious dish, and a really nice presentation too. I usually make it with just sausage, and use shredded cheese both mixed in and sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
the squash is bitter, but add a teaspoon of brown sugar to the bottom before you add your sausage to it. It will make all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Of course the kids wouldnt touch this, but my husband and I liked it. I didnt care for the sausage as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was WON-DER-FUL. Used ground pork (not sausage). Probably would add some rosemary, etc. next time for a little more flavor, but still was great. The savory filling with the sweet squash was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States