Strufoli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an excellent recipe! It was easy to make. I didn't even bother making the ropes, just broke pieces off dough and made balls. I have added this to my regular Christmas baking tradition and looking forward to making them again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNNI112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terrigrl74
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
First time making Strufoli and they came out perfect! I used the zest and juice of 1 orange instead of the lemon zest. I put all dry ingredients in my kitchen aid with the paddle and slowly added wet ingredients until dough just starts to come together. Then I dumped it onto a floured board and kneaded until all flour was worked in. I used my deep fryer and fried at 338 degrees. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
i tried this recipe it was nice but i had a taste of egg you have to reduce the egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great recipe! I was a little suspicious about the dough (it was really tough) But they fried up nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicky423
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Have been using this recipe for years. Its great! Strufoli is a tradition in my husband's Italian-American family. I was very happy when I found this recipe and even more happy when everyone loved it! We used to buy it at our bakery but it always smelled a bit eggy. This recipe is perfect! It is pretty easy to make, just a bit time consuming when making the balls. I add some candied cherries in addition to the sprinkles to give it a festive look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great recipe. It brought me back to my childhood visiting NYC to see my Italian family. It tasted just like I remembered. It was very easy to make. Cutting the strips and making ropes took the longest but, not too long. I put balls into honey, removed with slotted spoon and put in cupcake tins. Thank you for sharing this treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This came out very good. Very close to what I remember my grandmother made when I was a kid. I didn't have lemon, so I left it out and had just a cup of honey and it was enough with extra to pour over the top. It was pretty easy to make and great results. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Love this recipe. Second time making it. It's the closest to the honey balls I had growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent and easy to do came out just like my grandma's from when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argenti44

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This recipe is almost identical to my grandmother's recipe brought with her from Naples, Italy. The only difference is that she added an extra egg, and 2 extra tsp. of baking powder. They come out lighter and less dense. You do not have to roll them into balls. Just roll into a rope, cut into pieces and fry in hot oil. To solve the problem with the honey being too thin to hold everything together, my grandmother always heated the honey with sugar. If using a large bottle of honey, use 1 cup of sugar and heat on the stove till bubbly. Then toss the strufoli into the hot honey, remove with slotted buttered spoon, and begin mounding onto a platter with the buttered spoon or, if you hands can take the heat, buttered hands. They will hold together nicely into a nice mound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States