Strufoli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very similar to my grandmother's recipe. Rather than pinola we used blanched, roasted almonds. My brother and I were assigned the task of shelling all of those almonds. Also, preparing it was like an act of penance as the ladies would form the strufoli into a ring while the honey was still very, very hot. Of course they kept a bowl of ice water handy to cool their hands before the skin peeled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I was making a dish for an Italian inspired dinner and took these delicious morsels. Guests were picking at them throughout the evening. You can not eat just one! Making the little balls was a little tedious, but worth it in the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Didn't like. Wouldn't make again. Thought they might be better the next day... Nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I'm not Italian and had never heard of these before, but they looked so appetizing I just had to give them a try. They were delicious. This will certainly become a favorite recipe. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: Most reviewers complain about the tedious task of rolling the pieces of dough into little balls, and I was no exception! However, you can skip this step altogether. After you have the dough rolled into ropes, simply cut into little pieces and drop them into the oil. They come out perfectly round and you've saved a huge amount of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Awsome!Awsome! Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Brings back memories of my grandmas strufoli. Thanks for the memory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Great recipe. Exactly like my grandma used to make. Next time I would make the dough balls smaller (about the size of a pistachio) because they swelled so much in the oil. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Fabulous!! We grew up using the dark Karo syrup instead of the honey--just my preference---delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellent, served these after a huge meal (the feast of the 7 fish, Christmas Eve) and the table had tons of cookies and cakes, panettone and these were gone, everyone loved them they really are delicious, thank you so much, I have replace my grandma's recipe with this one. One thing, I made them a little larger only to save a little time but turns out that everyone liked them that way so I’m just going to keep them a little larger to save the chef some time, plus they were tender in texture and I really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. Just like my Grandma made. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the honey and toasted the pignoli (pine nuts) before sprinkling on top. I've also made them in individual servings, mounding a heaping spoonful into foiled muffin cups. Makes about 32 smaller servings. Great for giving a few small portions to the lovely elderly Italian couple next door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States