Strudel Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
After waiting an hour for the dough to rise, I returned to the towel covered bowl. I slowly lifted it...hoping to see a soft and fluffy puff of delight... My excitement quickly faded as I looked at the fat, dense ball of pure disgust that was to be my strudel.I tried to sooth myself by saying "shhh shhh shhh, maybe baking the dough will make things better". It didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just reading the recipe, I can tell it's not a strudel dough. I have to agree with Spatz. I used to help my mother with the many folds of dough and very cold butter. Was not as easy as this recipe. The phyllo in stores today are the strudel dough of years ago, and really, really home cooking. My mother came from Romania near the Hungarian border, and her cooking more resembled Hungarian than Romanian. The dough also can be stretched thin and then with a pastry brush and melted butter brush butter between layers. Must work very quickly, or dough becomes brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe perfectly, it is unrollable, and thickens when cooked. Virtually tasteless, definitely needs some revision. Tried it once, won't ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is an excellent tart dough and you can make blueberry to apple tarts with this. We did both a peach and apple tart and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the noodle dough I use to make mom's strudela recipe. The trick is to make sure to let it set for at least an hour so that it is easier to work with and be able to stretch it thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This dough was so dry, tough, and bland, it was really disappointing. If I had it to do over again, I would have chosen to cut butter into the dry ingredients like you would a pie crust, to help it be more flaky, but I likely won't even bother trying this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is NOT a strudel dough! A strudel dough is traditionally stretched so thin that you can see newsprint through it. Phyllo (filo) is very similar to it. It is not possible to roll dough out even close to thin enough to be a true strudel dough. This is a pastry dough, yes, but most certainly NOT a strudel dough by far! If you want something traditional, seek elsewhere
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Super easy dough... simple ingredients I had around the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
we made this with minute steaks and velveeta and it was delicious. The dough was easy and had a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I thought this recipe for dough was pretty good. It tasted nice and I used raspberry preserves and cream cheese for the filling. I made a nice topping for my strudel too.....1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup white or confectioners sugar, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. groud cinnamon and half a stick of butter cubed small. I mix all of this together and pour generously on top. It makes the top a little sweet and cruchy. It can also be modified to add groud nuts or fruit. My strudel only took about 15 mins. at 400 degrees and I had a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States