Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gpatton921
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for a trial run. I am in charge of making 2 Strombolis for thanksgiving and have never made a Stromboli before. Let's just say my husband went for 2nds and now 3rds :-) so I guess I will be making this for thanksgiving day for Football watching enjoyment. They only thing I did differently was removed the ham. I used 90% lean ground beef, mushrooms, red onion, pepperoni and green bell pepper. The thing I loved about this meal is that it was not greasy at all. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Great recipe ....made it for my son and 7 of his friends watching football.... I followed the recipe to the tee but replaced muchrooms with onions and really was good... I like cheese so went heavy on the cheese but look forward in making again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Added salami and used fresh mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
After folding, I spread one beaten egg yolk on top (no holes) and sprinkle with Italian seasoning or oregano. Awesome recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
NOT ITALIAN, wanna be italian, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have been making Stromboli for awhile.This is a nice change from the lunch meat versions. I also use garlic and oregano inside and out. I slice the leftovers, put them in baggies, then pop them in the freezer. My husband and I just grab one on the way to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have found instead of using pizza sauce which makes stromboli a little gooey, use sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was a big hit with the family! Instead of store bought pizza sauce, I made a triple batch of the Easy Pizza Sauce II that is at this site. I didn't have ham, but I had everything else, and I had bulk pepperoni so I cut it in pieces instead of slices. I reserved some of the sauce for dipping/topping, and the rest went into the mixture, and I used two ready made pizza dough packages I got on sale. Plenty of filling to go around, and now all I have to do is make another batch of dipping sauce for the second stromboli that only needs to be reheated on another day! Time saving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Yum! I put some cheese on the dough, overlapped the pepperoni, added the mixture, then topped with some more cheese. Had no problems with soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I just tried this recipe and it fantastic. I recently discovered the Winter Garden Pizza Company in Winter Garden, Florida. They make great stromboli. It is in beautiful, brink-paved, downtown Winter Garden. Unfortunately it is about 35 miles from my home. So going down there all the time is impractical. But this recipe comes close. I bought a prepared Italian pizza dough ball from the Publix bakery. I rolled it out, layered the bottom with sliced mozzarella cheese, then a layer of ham, then a layer of pepperoni, followed by a layer of capicola, and finally another layer of cheese. All of them purchased at the Publix deli. I folded the sides and ends over and sealed them with butter. Then I brushed the outside with butter and sprinkled on some granulated garlic. I put some steam holes in it and then I baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. I served the marinara sauce on the side. My wife and son raved over it. No leftovers tonight. Great stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States