Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is a calzone, not a stromboli. Stromboli is only meats and cheeses, no sauce - my mother in law, a Philadelphian Italian (allegedly the birthplace of stromboli), taught me to make true stromboli. Try using slices of cheese instead of shredded as first layer on dough - then add meats (we use provolone then sandwich style pepperoni & ham (hubby does not like salami)); roll up like a jelly roll and seal edges. To combat grease in the pepperoni, I lay slices on paper towels and microwave for a few seconds to drain some of the grease out. I use an egg wash, but will try melted garlic butter next time. Serve sauce on side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
NOT ITALIAN, wanna be italian, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have been making Stromboli for awhile.This is a nice change from the lunch meat versions. I also use garlic and oregano inside and out. I slice the leftovers, put them in baggies, then pop them in the freezer. My husband and I just grab one on the way to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have found instead of using pizza sauce which makes stromboli a little gooey, use sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was a big hit with the family! Instead of store bought pizza sauce, I made a triple batch of the Easy Pizza Sauce II that is at this site. I didn't have ham, but I had everything else, and I had bulk pepperoni so I cut it in pieces instead of slices. I reserved some of the sauce for dipping/topping, and the rest went into the mixture, and I used two ready made pizza dough packages I got on sale. Plenty of filling to go around, and now all I have to do is make another batch of dipping sauce for the second stromboli that only needs to be reheated on another day! Time saving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Yum! I put some cheese on the dough, overlapped the pepperoni, added the mixture, then topped with some more cheese. Had no problems with soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I just tried this recipe and it fantastic. I recently discovered the Winter Garden Pizza Company in Winter Garden, Florida. They make great stromboli. It is in beautiful, brink-paved, downtown Winter Garden. Unfortunately it is about 35 miles from my home. So going down there all the time is impractical. But this recipe comes close. I bought a prepared Italian pizza dough ball from the Publix bakery. I rolled it out, layered the bottom with sliced mozzarella cheese, then a layer of ham, then a layer of pepperoni, followed by a layer of capicola, and finally another layer of cheese. All of them purchased at the Publix deli. I folded the sides and ends over and sealed them with butter. Then I brushed the outside with butter and sprinkled on some granulated garlic. I put some steam holes in it and then I baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. I served the marinara sauce on the side. My wife and son raved over it. No leftovers tonight. Great stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Great quick week night meal hubby & kids loved! I made two for our family of five, including two teenage boys. I had one pizza crust dough on hand and a crescent roll dough (not our favorite). I made one as recipe indicated and a Hawaiian with crescent roll dough. Next time I'm going to just make Hawaiian though for even quicker meal prep(Canadian bacon, pineapple tidbits & baby bella mushrooms) with pizza dough as is our family's favorite pizza toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyj147

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
this did not go well for us. it was very difficult to spread out the dough and fill it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made this using 1 lb ground chicken, instead of beef. Did not have pepperoni, so didn't put anything on the dough. 30 minutes made the bottom burn on the 2 stromboli's that I made. I think 350 degrees for 20 minutes would have one it. Used 1/2 of a large can of whole peeled tomatoes, some mushrooms and onion. Added garlic to the veggies and it was delicious. Hubby liked itand we have enough leftovers for 2 more lunches. Happened to have 2 pizze dough crusts in frig that needed to be used. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States