Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used Pillsbury refrigerated pizza dough, and didn't need to punch it down & let it rise, etc. Just rolled it out, added sauce & toppings, sealed, and baked. Easy! Instead of pizza sauce, I used garlic & onion cream cheese (I heated it in the microwave for about 20 seconds to make it creamy enough to spread), and it was delicious. I also sauteed the onion & mushrooms and let them cool for a few minutes before layering them in. I sprinkled the top of each stromboli with garlic salt and grated Parmesan before baking, which made it more like a flavored pizza crust. Awesome recipe, and very versatile; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The kids flipped over this! Once assembled, I brushed the top of the dough with evoo and sprinkled with garlic and onion powders and Italian seasonings. Pillsbury pizza dough works incredibly well with this. Thank you Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Yum! This was so easy & really good. Nice change from pizza. I made a couple changes based on what I had on hand & personal preferences. I reduced in half for our smaller family & made one big stromboli rather than smaller ones. I only put half the sauce inside & saved the other half for dipping. I used salami, pepperoni & Italian sausage because that is what I had. And I slightly sauteed the veggies with a little olive oil & Italian seasoning. That is the great thing about this recipe is there are so many ways to change it up. The possibilites are endless. Thanks for a great recipe! Definately added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was really tasty and very easy. We had way more than two people could eat, so we ate cold stromboli for days-it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
very good. My crust got a little thick so next time I will roll it out a little bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I make a version of this stromboli once a month instead of getting pizza for the kids. I use frozen bread dough instead of the pizza dough (sure their about the same). My kids don't like mushrooms so we skip them. Instead I put in roasted red peppers for the veggie. My family LOVES stromboli! It's very easy to make and have taught my kids how to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I made it and it was absolutely perfect! I added olives and replaced the sausage with hamburger and replaced the refrigerated dough with dough I got at a pizzeria. The crust was perfect! The stromboli was so thick and filled with meat that I had to use cheese to hold it together, which by the way made it even better! MAKE THIS RECIPE. LOVE IT. SAVOR IT. DESIGNATE A HOLIDAY AFTER IT. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great recipe! I made it for an appetizer at a holiday get together and there was nothing left! Everyone loved it! I got the dough at a local pizza store so it was all ready to go. I just left out the mushrooms because my husbands doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
LOVE stomboli but this recipe did not suit me too well. First off, I only used one package of dough and that was enough (16oz). Next, I rolled the entire dough out and layered all meats and sauce. I rolled it up in one motion. I did not have to seperate into four layers, seems to make it more work than anything else. This recipe gave me ideas, but I ended up using my Mother's advice. Thanks anway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBum1024

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Great. I omitted the sauce and served it on the side as a dipping sauce. A suggestion from a friend was to add a little yellow mustard to the dough before laying everything else on. Surprisingly the mustard gives it a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States